HN:Live JSON revision - 2018-02-04
We got 99 links!

Spain cracks King Ferdinand’s 500-year-old secret code http://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-42931940

“Invisible Electrostatic Wall” at 3M adhesive tape plant (1996) http://amasci.com/weird/unusual/e-wall.html?utm=email

Cheetahs’ inner ear is one-of-a-kind, vital to high-speed hunting https://www.eurekalert.org/pub_releases/2018-02/amon-cie020218.php

Japan’s SS-520 CubeSat Launch Vehicle Achieves Success on Second Try http://spaceflight101.com/japan-ss-520-5-launch-success/

An industry has developed around the online resale of clothes https://www.1843magazine.com/style/mobile-magnates

Best practices for user account, authorization and password management https://cloudplatform.googleblog.com/2018/01/12-best-practices-for-user-account.html

The Famine Ended 70 Years Ago, but Dutch Genes Still Bear Scars https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/31/science/dutch-famine-genes.html

JITing PostgreSQL using LLVM [pdf] http://anarazel.de/talks/fosdem-2018-02-03/jit.pdf

The Muse (YC W12) Is Hiring a Product and Data PM https://www.themuse.com/jobs/themuse/product-manager-data-analytics-8fa79a

Computer Architecture – ETH Zürich – Fall 2017 https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5Q2soXY2Zi9OhoVQBXYFIZywZXCPl4M_

Puttin’ on the Style: On writing, and on English style https://www.newcriterion.com/issues/2018/2/puttin-on-the-style

Gaming’s most fiendish anti-piracy tricks (2010) http://www.gamesradar.com/gamings-most-fiendish-anti-piracy-tricks/

How Google Chrome’s ad blocker works https://www.ctrl.blog/entry/chrome-adblocker

With ePrivacy looming, German publishers scramble to get users logged in https://digiday.com/media/eprivacy-looming-german-publishers-scramble-get-users-logged/

HiFive – RISC-V-based Linux development board https://www.sifive.com/products/hifive-unleashed/

Video editing with Python https://github.com/Zulko/moviepy

iMac Pro 18-core Follow Up Review http://hrtapps.com/blogs/20180202/

Geoffrey Hinton spent 30 years on an idea many other scientists dismissed https://torontolife.com/tech/ai-superstars-google-facebook-apple-studied-guy

WeWork Buys Meetup; Here Is How Meetup.Com Will Change https://www.gaintap.com/blog/wework-buys-meetup-heres-meetup-will-change/

Mazda hopes to achieve 56% thermal efficiency with gasoline engine https://www.popularmechanics.com/cars/car-technology/a15915023/mazda-skyactiv-3-gas-clean-as-ev/

SENS Research Foundation Receives $2.4M Ethereum Donation from Vitalik Buterin http://www.sens.org/outreach/press-releases/srf-receives-24m-ethereum-donation-from-vitalik-buterin

Catalog of Missing Devices: Gadgets that could exist if not for copyright laws https://www.eff.org/press/releases/catalog-missing-devices-illustrates-gadgets-could-and-should-exist

Lee Berger has a knack for finding fossils his own way (2015) http://nautil.us/issue/30/identity/the-man-who-used-facebook-to-find-an-extinct-human-species

Why the drinking bird toy is a brilliant piece of thermodynamic engineering https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=UCKC-QVcVn0

Arc: Virus-Like Protein Is Involved in Memory and Cognition https://reliawire.com/virus-like-protein-cognition/

Tesla Model 3 Teardown by Engineering Firm Reveals Flaws Like ’A Kia in the 90s’ https://jalopnik.com/tesla-model-3-teardown-by-engineering-firm-reveals-qual-1822678045

ECMAScript 2018: final feature set http://2ality.com/2017/02/ecmascript-2018.html

’Fiction is outperforming reality’: how YouTube’s algorithm distorts truth https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2018/feb/02/how-youtubes-algorithm-distorts-truth

Chrome canary (66) blocks symantec issued SSL certificates https://twitter.com/vvoyer/status/959778910165721089

Show HN: Freework – Time tracking for freelancers https://go.freework.com/sWhY/EJD4VSTxeK

FOSDEM 2018 – Live Streaming https://fosdem.org/2018/schedule/streaming/

Etcd 3.3 – Improvements to stability, performance, and more https://coreos.com/blog/announcing-etcd-3.3

Thousands of stolen laptops recovered in massive Bay Area car burglary scheme https://www.siliconvalley.com/2018/01/31/thousands-of-stolen-laptops-recovered-in-massive-bay-area-car-burglary-scheme/

Memory Safety in Rust: A Case Study with C http://willcrichton.net/notes/rust-memory-safety/

Compile PHP to .NET online http://try.peachpie.io

CDE – Common Desktop Environment https://sourceforge.net/projects/cdesktopenv/

Goreuse: Generic Code for Go https://github.com/dc0d/goreuse

Court Doesn’t Bar Claims Against Online Platforms for Hosting Terrorist Content https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2018/02/federal-appeals-court-misses-opportunity-rule-section-230-bars-claims-against

A collisionless scenario for Uranus tilting (2009) https://arxiv.org/abs/0912.0181

Saferwall – A hackable malware sandbox https://saferwall.com

Real VPS Comparison – UpCloud vs. Linode vs. DigitalOcean https://github.com/valentinvichnal/vps-compare-upcloud-linode-digitalocean

If You’re So Successful, Why Are You Still Working 70 Hours a Week? https://hbr.org/2018/02/if-youre-so-successful-why-are-you-still-working-70-hours-a-week

Elon Musk’s Tesla to give solar panels and batteries to 50,000 SA homes http://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-02-04/elon-musk-tesla-to-give-solar-panels-batteries-to-sa-homes/9394352

More than half of Facebook Instant Articles partners may have abandoned it https://www.cjr.org/tow_center/are-facebook-instant-articles-worth-it.php

Why Microsoft Office is a bigger productivity drain than Candy Crush Saga http://timharford.com/2018/02/microsoftofficevscandycrush/

Show HN: A cross-platform implementation of beep https://github.com/louisabraham/beep

Slack: Other browsers require significant effort so we’re focused on Chrome https://twitter.com/SlackHQ/status/958645632620748800

Git .mailmap: fix up deadnames in old commits https://www.git-scm.com/docs/git-check-mailmap

Show HN: Realtime Website Analytics for Free https://statvoo.com/

Is It Mathematically Possible to Run Out of New Music? https://gizmodo.com/5962375/is-it-possible-to-run-out-of-new-music

A Deep Dive into Jordan Peterson’s Channel 4 Interview http://quillette.com/2018/02/02/deep-dive-jordan-petersons-channel-4-interview/

The Problematic Wannacry North Korea Attribution http://blog.erratasec.com/2018/01/the-problematic-wannacry-north-korea.html

The Hypocrisy of AT&T’s “Internet Bill of Rights” https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2018/01/hypocrisy-atts-internet-bill-rights

Lawsuit Exposes Internet Giant’s Internal Culture of Intolerance http://quillette.com/2018/02/01/lawsuit-exposes-internet-giants-internal-culture-intolerance/

The Switch Joy-Con’s Infrared Sensor Is Cooler Than We Thought https://kotaku.com/the-switch-joy-con-s-infrared-sensor-is-cooler-than-we-1822669059

The Largest Number of Scientists in Modern U.S. Is Running for Office in 2018 http://www.huffingtonpost.com.mx/entry/science-candidates_us_5a74fffde4b06ee97af2ae60