HN:Live JSON revision - 2018-03-07
We got 111 links!

A Tiny Wolfenstein-Like Software Engine https://github.com/glouw/littlewolf

The Dirty Secret of ‘Secret Family Recipes’ https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/secret-family-recipes-copied

How Amazon Can Blow Up Asset Management https://jirisancapital.com/amazon-can-blow-up-asset-management/

Prototype to production: How to build and design a PCB prototype https://blog.particle.io/2018/03/06/proto-to-prod/

Google Flutter and AWS Lambda for a serverless mobile app https://read.acloud.guru/serverless-application-with-flutter-lambda-aa0d264fbefd

132 year old message in a bottle found on West Australian beach http://museum.wa.gov.au/about/latest-news/132-year-old-message-bottle-found-on-wa-beach

Google Employees “Outraged” Their Tech is Used to Build Better Killing Machines https://www.vanityfair.com/news/2018/03/google-employees-outraged-their-tech-is-being-used-to-build-better-killing-machines

LibBF – a small library to handle arbitrary precision floating point numbers https://bellard.org/libbf/

FBI’s Use of Paid Best Buy Informants Goes Deeper Than We Knew https://gizmodo.com/fbis-use-of-paid-best-buy-informants-goes-deeper-than-w-1823561496

Socialhome: a federated personal profile with social networking functionality https://github.com/jaywink/socialhome

Crazy things happening in SF because of its out-of-control housing prices http://www.businessinsider.com/why-people-are-leaving-san-francisco-2018-3

Coinbase Asset Management https://am.coinbase.com/index

The Building Blocks of Interpretability https://distill.pub/2018/building-blocks/

Complete and Voluntary Starvation of 50 days https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4982520/

For a baby’s brain to benefit, read the right books at the right time http://theconversation.com/for-babys-brain-to-benefit-read-the-right-books-at-the-right-time-83076

Google helps Pentagon analyze military drone footage https://gizmodo.com/google-is-helping-the-pentagon-build-ai-for-drones-1823464533

Uber self-driving trucks are now moving cargo for Uber Freight customers https://techcrunch.com/2018/03/06/uber-self-driving-trucks-are-now-moving-cargo-for-uber-freight-customers/

A Brainfuck to WebAssembly compiler and playground https://github.com/verdie-g/brainfuck2wasm

Landslide Win for Italian Candidate Who Promised to Defend “White Race” https://theintercept.com/2018/03/06/landslide-win-italian-candidate-promised-defend-white-race/

Show HN: Investment Calculator – A simple retirement calculator https://investmentcalculator.io/

Operation Serenata de Amor – An AI project to analyze public spending in Brazil https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operation_Serenata_de_Amor

Show HN: MyCryptoWiki – A free cryptocurrency coin wiki https://mycryptowiki.com

Sin and Cos: The Programmer’s Pals http://www.helixsoft.nl/articles/circle/sincos.htm

Show HN: Open Avalanche Project – Using ML to Improve Avalanche Forecasting https://openavalancheproject.org

Show HN: Summary Brew – Summaries for Top 300 HN Stories and Books https://summarybrew.com/

Crawling and Indexing: Technical SEO Basics That Drive Revenue https://rozhon.com/blog/crawling-indexing-technical-seo-basics-that-drive-revenue/

Fullstack Academy (YC S12) is hiring for 7+ roles. Change tech education https://www.fullstackacademy.com/careers

Data Center Operating System http://datacenteroperatingsystem.io/

Galera Cluster for MySQL: The True Multi-Master http://galeracluster.com/products/

Progressive Locks: fast, upgradable read/write locks http://wtarreau.blogspot.com/2018/02/progressive-locks-fast-upgradable.html

Neural network AI is simple. So… Stop pretending you are a genius https://www.kdnuggets.com/2018/02/neural-network-ai-simple-genius.html

Fraudsters Jailed for £37m Copycat Website Scam http://www.bbc.com/news/business-43309881

Show HN: UML2 SP: Object-oriented simulation language https://vgurianov.github.io/uml-sp/

HDD vs. SSD: What Does the Future for Storage Hold? https://www.backblaze.com/blog/ssd-vs-hdd-future-of-storage/

New “Android Go” phones show how much you can get for $100 https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2018/02/new-android-go-phones-show-how-much-you-can-get-for-100/

First stable version of Scheme web framework Artanis released http://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/artanis/2018-03/msg00000.html

The curious case of the query that gets slower the fewer elements it affects http://engineering.liefery.com/2018/02/27/the-mysterious-query.html

Causes and consequences of the Sicilian Mafia https://voxeu.org/article/causes-and-consequences-sicilian-mafia

Ontario wrongly separated families on results of Motherisk hair-testing program http://reason.com/blog/2018/03/05/motherisk-hair-testing-program-was-junk

The sound of SID: 35 years of chiptune’s influence on electronic music https://theconversation.com/the-sound-of-sid-35-years-of-chiptunes-influence-on-electronic-music-74935

Computing Types for the Internet of Things https://www.iotforall.com/4-computing-types-for-iot/

Why Did the FBI Arrest the Hacker Who Stopped the WannaCry Attack? https://nymag.com/selectall/2018/03/marcus-hutchins-hacker.html

Google moves toward quantum supremacy with 72-qubit computer https://www.sciencenews.org/article/google-moves-toward-quantum-supremacy-72-qubit-computer

Sysadmin left finger on power button for an hour to avert SAP outage https://www.theregister.co.uk/2018/03/05/who_me/

HTTP Analytics for 6M requests per second using ClickHouse https://blog.cloudflare.com/http-analytics-for-6m-requests-per-second-using-clickhouse/

Bad iPhone notches are happening to good Android phones https://www.theverge.com/2018/3/4/17077458/iphone-design-clones-mwc-2018?ICID=ref_fark

Show HN: Air Miners – Index of Startups Mining Carbon Dioxide from the Air http://airminers.org

The dirty industry of fast fashion is causing an environmental “emergency” https://qz.com/1222569/fast-fashion-is-causing-an-environmental-emergency/

Opioids are no better than Tylenol for treating some chronic pain https://www.vox.com/science-and-health/2018/3/6/17082590/opioids-tylenol-chronic-pain-study

Technique to see objects hidden around corners https://phys.org/news/2018-03-technique-hidden-corners.html

Google Is Quietly Providing AI Technology for Drone Strike Targeting Project https://theintercept.com/2018/03/06/google-is-quietly-providing-ai-technology-for-drone-strike-targeting-project/

A Tour of the Top Algorithms for Machine Learning Newbies https://www.kdnuggets.com/2018/02/tour-top-10-algorithms-machine-learning-newbies.html

React Native for Web: Platform-Agnostic Components/APIs of React Native for Web https://github.com/necolas/react-native-web#react-native-for-web

Electric clocks in Europe have been running slow for over a month https://thenextweb.com/eu/2018/03/06/electric-clocks-europe-running-slow-month/

Peter Diamandis on how Silicon Valley can make 100 the new 60 http://www.businessinsider.com/peter-diamandis-how-silicon-valley-can-make-100-new-60-2018-2

Learn how to use AWS SES with Go lambda to send emails https://medium.com/@khlbrg/sending-emails-with-go-and-aws-lambda-35c4626446ed

PVS-Studio: One Doesn’t Simply Edit Subtitles https://www.viva64.com/en/b/0562/

Shock poll finds £999 X too expensive for happy iPhone owners https://www.theregister.co.uk/2018/03/06/iphone_x_too_expensive_survey/

Googling Bend, Oregon’s ZIP Code 97702 results in an internal server error https://www.seroundtable.com/google-97702-25349.html

Show HN: GitLab Workflow: VSCode extension to enrich your GitLab experience https://marketplace.visualstudio.com/items?itemName=fatihacet.gitlab-workflow