HN:Live JSON revision - 2018-03-10
We got 128 links!

Staying awake: the surprisingly effective way to treat depression https://mosaicscience.com/story/staying-awake-surprisingly-effective-way-treat-depression/

Show HN: How to Make an AWS S3 Static Website with SSL https://www.josephecombs.com/2018/03/05/how-to-make-an-AWS-S3-static-website-with-ssl

Getting any Facebook user’s friend list and partial payment card details https://www.josipfranjkovic.com/blog/facebook-friendlist-paymentcard-leak

Geany – Great Light-Weight IDE for Linux and Windows https://www.geany.org/

Tail Recursion Tactics: Fibonacci https://blog.des.io/posts/2018-03-08-fibonacci.html

Mozilla’s Servo Team Joining Mixed Reality https://blog.servo.org/2018/03/09/servo-and-mixed-reality/

MIT scientists announce effort to build compact tokamak pilot plant http://news.mit.edu/2018/mit-newly-formed-company-launch-novel-approach-fusion-power-0309

Writing an OS in Rust (Second Edition) https://os.phil-opp.com/second-edition/

Show HN: Tones.fm – Make synth music https://www.tones.fm/

HALP: High-Accuracy Low-Precision Training http://dawn.cs.stanford.edu/2018/03/09/low-precision/

Found trapped in a diamond: a type of ice not known on Earth http://www.latimes.com/science/sciencenow/la-sci-sn-water-in-diamonds-20180308-story.html

Azure Functions – Significant Improvements in HTTP Trigger Scaling https://www.azurefromthetrenches.com/azure-functions-significant-improvements-in-http-trigger-scaling/

How Dutch Police Took Over Hansa, a Top Dark Web Market https://www.wired.com/story/hansa-dutch-police-sting-operation/?retry

The Lucrative Art of Chicken Sexing (2017) https://psmag.com/magazine/the-lucrative-art-of-chicken-sexing

Analyzing availability patterns in car sharing in Berlin https://medium.com/@itshonza/3fbfba071069

Ketamine treatment could offer new hope to patients with severe depression http://wgntv.com/2018/01/25/ketamine-treatment-could-offer-new-hope-to-patients-with-severe-depression/

A transportation engineer has a simple solution to potholes: pave better roads https://www.thestar.com/news/gta/2018/03/09/pothole-problem-can-be-solved-carleton-professor-says.html

Show HN: Devstream.tv – Watch developers code live https://devstream.tv/

Introducing the Second Edition of “The Guide to Marketplaces” http://versionone.vc/marketplaces-guide-ed2/

Show HN: Scout – See lower direct hotel rates as you browse online travel agents https://www.roomkey.com/scout/

Lessons from my first year of live coding on Twitch http://meow.noopkat.com/lessons-from-one-year-of-streaming-on-twitch/

Martin Shkreli has been sentenced to seven years in prison https://www.theverge.com/2018/3/9/17097116/martin-shkreli-fraud-sentencing-prison

Plasma: Scalable Autonomous Smart Contracts https://plasma.io/

The mystery of the Roman ’gate to hell’ – CNN https://www.cnn.com/2018/03/09/world/mystery-gates-to-hell-hierapolis/index.html

Show HN: LambdaPHP – Host any PHP website on AWS Lambda instantly https://github.com/san-kumar/lambdaphp

How to opt out of Facebook data sharing https://m.imore.com/how-opt-out-facebook-data-sharing

Chargehound Is Hiring a Solutions Engineer in Oakland https://www.chargehound.com/jobs/solutions-engineer

GitHub: A more connected universe (2017) https://blog.github.com/2017-10-11-a-more-connected-universe/

Ask for Advice, Not Permission (2015) http://boz.com/articles/advice-not-permission.html

The Boring Company will prioritize pedestrians and cyclists https://mobile.twitter.com/elonmusk/status/972233079342297088

Show HN: We Demand FaaS for Ruby https://www.serverless-ruby.org

Apparent use of Sandvine devices for malicious or dubious ends in two countries https://citizenlab.ca/2018/03/bad-traffic-sandvines-packetlogic-devices-deploy-government-spyware-turkey-syria/

Cost of California bullet train system rises to $77.3B, take 5 years more http://www.latimes.com/local/california/la-me-bullet-train-cost-increase-20180309-story.html

Learning Rust 1: Printing, Simple Data Types, Variables, and Functions https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Wu7CKoS12s

Central Logging in Multi-Account Environments – AWS Architecture Blog https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/architecture/central-logging-in-multi-account-environments/

Grab is acquiring Uber’s SE Asia business http://www.zdnet.com/article/grab-buy-uber-southeast-asia/

Haskell Researchers Announce Discovery of Industry Programmer Who Gives a Shit http://steve-yegge.blogspot.com/2010/12/haskell-researchers-announce-discovery.html

The Social Media Threat to Society and Security by GEORGE SOROS https://www.project-syndicate.org/commentary/social-media-security-threat-by-george-soros-2018-02

Testing and Debugging in Production with Distributed Tracing http://blog.launchdarkly.com/testing-and-debugging-in-production-with-distributed-tracing/

Run .NET and Node.js Code In-Process on Windows, MacOS, and Linux https://github.com/tjanczuk/edge

How exercise in old age prevents the immune system from declining http://www.bbc.com/news/health-43308729

Amazon Partnership with British Police Alarms Privacy Advocates https://theintercept.com/2018/03/09/amazon-echo-alexa-uk-police/

Haskell at Work – Practical Haskell Screencasts https://haskell-at-work.com/

Video Game Developer Says He Won’t Send Takedown of a Bad Review, Does So Anyway https://www.eff.org/takedowns/video-game-developer-says-he-wont-send-takedown-bad-review-does-so-anyway

How Kubrick’s ‘2001: A Space Odyssey’ Saw into the Future https://www.wsj.com/articles/how-kubricks-2001-a-space-odyssey-saw-into-the-future-1520609361

Show HN: RemoteHacker.com – Find a project partner https://remotehacker.com

Show HN: MailDB – Find and verify email addresses https://maildb.io/

Show HN: React Reveal – simple reveal on scroll animations for React apps https://www.react-reveal.com

Reddit Still Hosts Links to Russian Propaganda Sites https://www.wired.com/story/reddit-russian-propaganda/

The C++ Metaclasses Proposal in Less Than 5 Minutes https://www.fluentcpp.com/2018/03/09/c-metaclasses-proposal-less-5-minutes/

The Secret to a Longer Life? Don’t Ask These Dead Longevity Researchers https://www.nytimes.com/2018/03/09/opinion/sunday/longevity-pritikin-atkins.html

Don’t let TC39 use smoosh or smooshMap https://github.com/staltz/prevent-smoosh

GitHub is forcing me to change my username, and will not tell me why http://nerderati.com/2018/03/09/github-is-forcing-me-to-change-my-username/

Same driver, different vehicle: Bringing Waymo self-driving technology to trucks https://medium.com/waymo/same-driver-different-vehicle-bringing-waymo-self-driving-technology-to-trucks-e55824b55b8f

Waymo self-driving trucks are hauling gear for Google data centers https://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/2018/03/waymo-moves-beyond-driverless-taxis-with-trucking-program/

Show HN: Alsaloudness, a loudness compensation plugin for ALSA https://github.com/dpapavas/alsaloudness

Caffeine and Cannabis Effects on Vital Neurotransmitters in Rats https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5448447/

Waymo to launch a self-driving truck pilot in Atlanta for Google data centers https://www.cnbc.com/2018/03/09/waymo-to-launch-a-self-driving-truck-pilot-in-atlanta-for-google-data-centers.html

On its 100th anniversary, the madness of Daylight Saving Time endures https://theconversation.com/100-years-later-the-madness-of-daylight-saving-time-endures-93048

The Right to Repair Battle Has Come to Silicon Valley https://motherboard.vice.com/en_us/article/8xdp94/right-to-repair-california-bill

Elon Musk takes Donald Trump to task on US-China car trade https://electrek.co/2018/03/08/elon-musk-donald-trump-us-china-car-trade-tesla-factory/

Airline websites don’t care about privacy follow-up: Emirates in full-on denial https://medium.freecodecamp.org/privacy-leaks-round-trip-emirates-com-in-denial-7f99950bcdd

Ten Hours of Static Gets Five Copyright Notices https://www.eff.org/takedowns/ten-hours-static-gets-five-copyright-notices

Learning from Emilia Romagna’s cooperative economy (2016) https://thenextsystem.org/learning-from-emilia-romagna

Peter Thiel’s Money Talks, in Contentious Ways. But What Does He Say? https://www.nytimes.com/2018/03/07/technology/peter-thiel-trump-facebook.html

81 Year Old Commodore Amiga Artist – Samia Halaby [video] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sDfIkXf3uzA

Lego will sell its first sustainable pieces later this year https://www.theverge.com/2018/3/2/17070454/lego-bricks-sustainable-plastic-toys

Robinhood Desktop – Open Source https://www.stockstalk.club?source=hn

Geek Squad staff ’paid by FBI’ to flag illegal imagery http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-43315176?ocid=socialflow_twitter

Google is quietly providing AI technology for drone strike targeting project https://theintercept.com/2018/03/06/google-is-quietly-providing-ai-technology-for-drone-strike-targeting-project/

Amelia Earhart: Island bones ’likely’ belonged to famed pilot http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-43323944