HN:Live JSON revision - 2018-03-26
We got 91 links!

Facebook denies it collects call and SMS data from phones without permission https://techcrunch.com/2018/03/25/facebook-denies-it-collects-call-and-sms-data-from-phones-without-permission/

ViperCard – An open source re-creation and re-imagination of HyperCard https://www.vipercard.net/

The “Run Less Software” philosophy https://blog.intercom.com/run-less-software/

Gokrazy: A pure-Go userland for Raspberry Pi 3 appliances https://gokrazy.org/

1962 U.S. Military Ejects Bear from B-58 to Test Escape Capsule http://airpigz.com/blog/2010/4/2/b-58-proves-supersonic-ejection-to-be-bear-able-in-1962.html

Achtung: Decentralize, decentralize, decentralize https://drewdevault.com/2018/03/24/Decentralize-decentralize-decentralize.html

Oni: Modern Modal Editing – Powered by Neovim https://github.com/onivim/oni

A dietary supplement makes old mice youthful, but will it work in people? https://www.statnews.com/2018/03/22/dietary-supplement-makes-old-mice-spry/

Kaggle Public Datasets: 13,000+ Community-Created Datasets https://www.kaggle.com/datasets

Concurrency Limits by Netflix https://github.com/Netflix/concurrency-limits

Migra – A schema diff tool for PostgreSQL https://github.com/djrobstep/migra

Regulation could protect Facebook, not punish it https://techcrunch.com/2018/03/25/the-regulation-moat/

ProteinNet: A standardized data set for machine learning of protein structure https://github.com/aqlaboratory/proteinnet

Show HN: Wishminer – Mining social media for app ideas, my weekend project https://wishminer.com

Facebook hid webpages bragging of ability to influence elections https://theintercept.com/2018/03/14/facebook-election-meddling/

Show HN: Find3 – An indoor positioning system for smartphones and laptops https://github.com/schollz/find3

A Glimpse into the Bureaucratic Hell of Denying Health Insurance Claims https://splinternews.com/a-glimpse-into-the-bureaucratic-hell-of-denying-health-1823560356

IRS reminds taxpayers to report virtual currency transactions https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/irs-reminds-taxpayers-to-report-virtual-currency-transactions

The history behind the chocolate hoax (2015) https://www.cjr.org/analysis/the_history_behind_the_chocolate_hoax.php

The Shipping Container Is a Blessing to All Humanity https://fee.org/articles/the-shipping-container-is-a-blessing-to-all-humanity/

Plan to dramatically increase development would transform some LA neighborhoods http://www.latimes.com/local/lanow/la-me-ln-housing-bill-transit-20180325-htmlstory.html

iPhone protected you from Facebook call scraping. Android, not so much https://www.imore.com/iphone-protected-you-facebook-call-scraping-android-not-so-much

The Algorithmic Foundations of Differential Privacy (2014) [pdf] https://www.cis.upenn.edu/~aaroth/Papers/privacybook.pdf

Medium suspended our account and blocked access to all our published stories https://mastodon.xyz/@Liberapay/99744324870271197

AdoptOpenJDK – Prebuilt OpenJDK Binaries https://adoptopenjdk.net/

Retro Review: 2009 Mac Pro in 2018 https://www.imore.com/retro-review-2009-mac-pro-2018

Forget Cambridge Analytica. Zuck could use FB data for his own presidential run http://noblackmirrorthanks.blogspot.com/2018/03/forget-cambridge-analytica-heres-how.html

How to Fall Asleep in Two Minutes or Less https://www.artofmanliness.com/2018/03/21/fall-asleep-fast/

Guide to Speech Recognition with Python https://realpython.com/python-speech-recognition/

Tail Recursion Elimination (Guido van Rossum, 2009) https://neopythonic.blogspot.com/2009/04/tail-recursion-elimination.html

Tim Cook says Facebook’s collection of user data ’shouldn’t exist’ http://www.businessinsider.com/apple-ceo-tim-cook-on-facebook-cambridge-analytica-scandal-2018-3

Does Having a Day Job Mean Making Better Art? https://www.nytimes.com/2018/03/22/t-magazine/art/artist-day-job.html

Facebook buys offline data gathered by marketers or gathered from other sources https://apnews.com/8e78b38f0b1744299b6d144e6c738002

Infinity Is Launching Flexible Alternative to Trello https://medium.com/infinitypm/is-infinity-better-than-trello-3b8ef7437022

Papers we love http://paperswelove.org/

The Muse (YC W12) Is Hiring a QA Lead – Help People Find Their Purpose https://www.themuse.com/jobs/themuse/qa-lead-335af6

KDE Plasma Voted Best Desktop Environment in Linux Journal Readers Choice Awards http://www.linuxjournal.com/content/best-desktop-environment

Why we’re switching to ARM-based servers https://twitter.com/4Dgifts/status/976560820611031040

Google now blocks GApps on uncertified devices,but custom ROM can be whitelisted https://www.xda-developers.com/google-blocks-gapps-uncertified-devices-custom-rom-whitelist/

We used sock puppets in /r/netsec last year (and are sorry we did) (2015) https://www.reddit.com/r/netsec/comments/38wl43/we_used_sock_puppets_in_rnetsec_last_year_and_are/

Show HN: NakshaDB, mapping application https://github.com/sri-soham/nakshadb-server

Coping with the TCP TIME-WAIT state on busy Linux servers https://vincent.bernat.im/en/blog/2014-tcp-time-wait-state-linux

Oracle’s lack of developer appeal is killing its cloud business https://www.techrepublic.com/article/oracles-lack-of-developer-appeal-is-killing-its-cloud-business/

Show HN: Jump to HN – Open hacker news discussion of any article https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/jump-to-hn/fopjlegcdhogedbmpkdljokglemjckdm

The Curse of Cow Clicker: How a Cheeky Satire Became a Videogame Hit https://www.wired.com/2011/12/ff_cowclicker/

Elon Musk Joins #DeleteFacebook with a Barrage of Tweets https://www.nytimes.com/2018/03/23/technology/elon-musk-deletefacebook.html

Behind the Facebook data scandal: The drive to censor the Internet https://www.wsws.org/en/articles/2018/03/23/pers-m23.html

How to Build a Serverless, SEO-Friendly React Blog – Netlify https://www.netlify.com/blog/2017/09/26/how-to-build-a-serverless-seo-friendly-react-blog/