HN:Live JSON revision - 2018-05-31
We got 138 links!

Footsteps, Pressure Sensors, and AI: The Next Step in Airport Security https://www.eetimes.com/document.asp?doc_id=1333332&_mc=RSS_EET_EDT

Predicting Stock Performance with Natural Language Deep Learning https://www.microsoft.com/developerblog/2017/12/04/predicting-stock-performance-deep-learning/

Actix: a small, pragmatic, and fast Rust web framework https://actix.rs/

Architecture of a Database System (2007) [pdf] http://db.cs.berkeley.edu/papers/fntdb07-architecture.pdf

UK Airprox board says police drone and jet had ’near-miss’ http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-devon-44286754

Reddit just passed Facebook as #3 most popular website in US https://www.alexa.com/topsites/countries/US

Show HN: JavaScript/WebGL webcam face swap with color correction https://jeeliz.com/demos/faceFilter/demos/faceReplacement/faceSwap/

GiveCampus (YC S15) is hiring a Director of Product to advance education https://www.givecampus.com/careers#product

Show HN: Write every day, measure your progress, achieve your writing goals https://writingstreak.io/?src=hn

How a Pentagon Contract Became an Identity Crisis for Google https://www.nytimes.com/2018/05/30/technology/google-project-maven-pentagon.html

How to Sell – a guide for SaaS startups https://www.entrepidpartners.com/how-to-sell-guide

OpenBSD’s httpd gets URL rewrite https://marc.info/?l=openbsd-tech&m=152761257806283&w=2

Build2, a Cargo-like dependency and build manager for C/C++ https://build2.org/build2-toolchain/doc/build2-toolchain-intro.xhtml

Depressing and faintly terrifying days for the C standard [pdf] http://www.yodaiken.com/2018/05/20/depressing-and-faintly-terrifying-days-for-the-c-standard/

Walmart will begin offering to subsidize college tuition for its U.S. workers https://www.nytimes.com/2018/05/30/business/walmart-college-tuition.html

Simplify Login with Application Load Balancer Built-In Authentication https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/aws/built-in-authentication-in-alb/

Facebook Location History View https://www.facebook.com/location_history/view/

Amazon to block Australian shoppers from its US website http://mobile.abc.net.au/news/2018-05-31/amazon-to-block-us-site-in-australia/9820224

Show HN: Fast `git status` (git core.fsmonitor in Rust) https://github.com/jgavris/rs-git-fsmonitor

Show HN: Favicon Kit – get and embed Favicons from any web site (CDN and API) https://faviconkit.com/?ref=hackernews

HashLife: An Algorithm for Compressing Space and Time (2006) http://www.drdobbs.com/jvm/an-algorithm-for-compressing-space-and-t/184406478

Embedding files in C programs with koio https://drewdevault.com/2018/05/29/Embedding-files-in-C.html

It ain’t about the callbacks, it’s about the flow control (2013) https://idea.popcount.org/2013-09-05-it-aint-about-the-callbacks/

What I’ve Been Doing Since Quitting My Job https://mtlynch.io/since-quitting/

Nebulet: A microkernel that runs WebAssembly in Ring 0 https://github.com/nebulet/nebulet

Media for Thinking the Unthinkable (2013) http://worrydream.com/MediaForThinkingTheUnthinkable/

GDPR, China and data sovereignty are ultimately wins for Amazon and Google https://techcrunch.com/2018/05/29/gdpr-and-the-cloud-winners/

Show HN: IT Kit – curated tools for IT managers http://itkit.io/

Simone Giertz is out of surgery and her doctors are very pleased https://twitter.com/SimoneGiertz/status/1002036156752543746

Odyssey – Scalable PostgreSQL connection pooler https://github.com/yandex/odyssey

Show HN: Kitten – Tiny multi-server automation tool https://github.com/hoffa/kitten

Seven Pillars of Causal Reasoning with Reflections on Machine Learning [pdf] http://ftp.cs.ucla.edu/pub/stat_ser/r481.pdf

Some nice and accurate CMake tips http://bastian.rieck.me/blog/posts/2018/cmake_tips/

What is Software Engineering? https://research.swtch.com/vgo-eng

Localingual: Listen to voices from around the world http://localingual.com

Y’all Ain’t Killing Me: The Rise of “Super Jobs.” http://theunderemployedlife.com/yall-aint-killing-rise-super-jobs/

Wanted: Online Pubs Doing Real (and Therefore GDPR-Compliant) Advertising http://blogs.harvard.edu/doc/2018/05/30/post/

Three-body Gallery http://three-body.ipb.ac.rs/

AT&T and Verizon both want to run massive ad-tracking networks to rival Facebook https://www.theverge.com/2018/5/30/17410942/att-verizon-facebook-ad-tracking

US to impose limits on some Chinese visas https://apnews.com/82a98fecee074bfb83731760bfbce515

A Student’s Guide to UC Berkeley’s Startup Ecosystem (2018–19 Update) https://hackernoon.com/a-students-guide-to-uc-berkeley-s-startup-ecosystem-a50df21d6da6

iTunes Store temporarily inaccessible for older iTunes versions, seemingly fixed https://discussions.apple.com/thread/8406670

How to Avoid Distractions and Start the Right Company https://www.atrium.co/blog/sam-altman-start-the-right-company/?hn

Playing hard exploration games by watching YouTube https://arxiv.org/abs/1805.11592

Linux 4.17 I/O Scheduler Tests on an NVMe SSD Yield Surprising Results https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=linux417-nvme-io&num=1

Start colon cancer screening at 45, not 50, American Cancer Society urges https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/2018/05/30/american-cancer-society-colon-cancer-screening-45/651959002/

Working on Compiler-Assisted Performance Analysis on GCC https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=GCC-Comp-Assist-Perf-Analysis

New vitamin supplement study finds they may do more harm than good https://theconversation.com/new-vitamin-supplement-study-finds-they-may-do-more-harm-than-good-97246

Snap’s CEO weighs in on Facebook’s long history of copying him https://www.theverge.com/2018/5/29/17407530/evan-spiegel-interview-code-conference-2018

Thailand is new dumping ground for world’s high-tech trash http://news.trust.org//item/20180530075004-h1j65/

CA’s Senate passed S.B. 822, a gold standard in NetNeutrality protection bills https://twitter.com/EFF/status/1001925373746036736

NameCheap BS and GDPR Fail https://imgur.com/a/E9eVY6a

The Next Privacy Battle in Europe Is Over the Proposed ePrivacy Regulation https://www.nytimes.com/2018/05/27/technology/europe-eprivacy-regulation-battle.html

Mary Meeker’s 2018 Internet Trends Report [pdf] http://www.kpcb.com/file/2018-internet-trends-report

The Flaws with Coverage of Google AI’s Recent New Speech Recognition Algorithm https://www.skynettoday.com/content/briefs/google-speech-separation/

Traffic light tech will be tested in UK, allows cars to leverage signal change https://techxplore.com/news/2018-05-traffic-tech-uk-cars-leverage.html

Lazarus IDE 1.8.4 is released with Free Pascal compiler 3.0.4 http://forum.lazarus.freepascal.org/index.php/topic,41326.0.html

Keystone: RISC-V Based Open-Source Secure Hardware Enclave http://keystone-enclave.org/

Elon Musk in 2016: I consider autonomous driving to be solved problem [video] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wsixsRI-Sz4&feature=youtu.be&t=1h18m28s

What the Hell Happened at General Electric? http://fortune.com/longform/ge-decline-what-the-hell-happened/

Artificial Intelligence: The Future of Appointment Scheduling https://hackernoon.com/artificial-intelligence-the-future-of-appointment-scheduling-7a400eee5d97

Show HN: An Algorithm to Generate Beautiful Color Palettes https://chris.de/posts/an-algorithm-to-generate-color-palettes/

USA needs law ’a lot like GDPR’ says Salesforce CEO Marc Benioff https://www.theregister.co.uk/2018/05/30/salesforce_q1_2019/?

What It’s Like When Elon Musk’s Twitter Mob Comes After You https://www.thedailybeast.com/what-its-like-when-elon-musks-twitter-mob-comes-after-you

Fast, extensible, configurable, and beautiful linter for Go https://blog.mgechev.com/2018/05/28/revive-golang-golint-linter/

Diamonds Suck (2006) http://diamondssuck.com/

Motivation is Overvalued. Environment Often Matters More. https://jamesclear.com/power-of-environment

Fact-checking Mercury 13, Netflix’s doc about NASA’s women astronaut trainees https://www.theverge.com/2018/5/29/17393698/netflix-documentary-mercury-13-women-space-astronauts-margaret-weitekamp-interview

’Murdered’ Journalist Is Alive and Well https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-44307611

Free Cash to Fight Income Inequality? Stockton, CA Is First in US to Try https://www.nytimes.com/2018/05/30/business/stockton-basic-income.html

Job Ads You Can’t See on Facebook If You’re Older (2017) https://projects.propublica.org/graphics/facebook-job-ads

Show HN: MASV – Send 20GB+ files up to 1 Gbps. Pay-as-you-go and custom branding https://www.masv.io/

Blocking EU visitors with Cloudflare and .htaccess for GDPR https://gist.github.com/zero-master/57ce7f5091503ca637747df5ba4fe71d

EU Proposes to Ban Plastic Straws, Stirs, and Cotton Buds https://www.nytimes.com/aponline/2018/05/28/world/europe/ap-eu-europe-plastics-.html

Tesla Model 3 Gets Consumer Reports Recommendation After Braking Update https://www.consumerreports.org/car-safety/tesla-model-3-gets-cr-recommendation-after-braking-update/