HN:Live JSON revision - 2018-06-17
We got 96 links!

The Quest to Break America’s Most Mysterious Code http://mentalfloss.com/article/540277/beale-ciphers-buried-treasure

Ctrl-labs’ armband lets you control computer cursors with your mind https://venturebeat.com/2018/06/16/ctrl-labs-armband-lets-you-control-computer-cursors-with-your-mind/

A seed that could bring clean water to millions https://phys.org/news/2018-06-seed-millions.html

The “Doorway Effect” – forgetting why you entered a room http://www.bbc.com/future/story/20160307-why-does-walking-through-doorways-make-us-forget

60 FPS Retro Gaming on Mobile – Master System Emulator in JavaScript (2013) https://gmarty.github.io/jsSMS/Reject.JS-2013-Slides/

Humans Are Turning Mammals More Nocturnal https://www.outsideonline.com/2317506/nocturnal-animals-humans

The Garden of Earthly Delights by Jheronimus Bosch https://tuinderlusten-jheronimusbosch.ntr.nl/en

Fullstack Academy is looking for developers who love teaching https://fullstackacademy.workable.com/jobs/186349

ML5js: Friendly machine learning for the web https://ml5js.org/

Scientists say new material can triple lithium-ion battery energy density https://www.utilitydive.com/news/scientists-say-new-material-can-triple-lithium-ion-battery-energy-density/525772/

What’s My Color IQ? https://www.xrite.com/hue-test

New deep learning technique solves Rubik’s Cube without assistance https://www.technologyreview.com/s/611281/a-machine-has-figured-out-rubiks-cube-all-by-itself/

How the belief in beauty has triggered a crisis in physics https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-018-05374-9

Eight hours a night isn’t enough, according to a leading sleep scientist https://qz.com/1301123/why-eight-hours-a-night-isnt-enough-according-to-a-leading-sleep-scientist/

Marc Benioff of Salesforce: ‘Are We Not All Connected?’ https://www.nytimes.com/2018/06/15/business/marc-benioff-salesforce-corner-office.html

SP-480 Far Travelers: The Back Side of the Moon (1985) https://history.nasa.gov/SP-480/ch10.htm

Married in Montana: Servicemembers take advantage of state’s double-proxy law https://www.stripes.com/news/married-in-montana-servicemembers-take-advantage-of-state-s-double-proxy-law-1.91942

Yarn-like material collects largest amount of uranium from seawater to date https://www.pnnl.gov/news/release.aspx?id=4514

A former Theranos employee’s account of life inside the company https://www.reddit.com/r/tech/comments/8rmudm/i_worked_at_theranos_and_this_is_a_glimpse_of_my/

Delhi’s air pollution is now so bad it is literally off the chart https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/jun/15/delhi-blanketed-by-smog-so-toxic-it-cant-be-measured

Unlocking Intersection Types with ‘var’ in Java 10 https://blog.codefx.org/java/intersection-types-var/

Recommended path to read the Lua source code by the author of LuaJIT (2007) https://www.reddit.com/r/programming/comments/63hth/ask_reddit_which_oss_codebases_out_there_are_so/c02pxbp/

Major work starts to boost the luminosity of the LHC https://home.cern/about/updates/2018/06/major-work-starts-boost-luminosity-lhc

Unlisted Links Aren’t Quite as Private as YouTube Promised https://www.psafe.com/en/blog/unlisted-links-arent-quite-private-youtube-promised/

THT v0.2.0 – a language that compiles to PHP https://tht.help

Show HN: BudgetDuo – Easily determine your share of household expenses https://budgetduo.com

Over 400 Scientific Papers Have Cited a ’Phantom’ Reference That Never Existed https://www.sciencealert.com/how-over-400-scientific-papers-cited-phantom-reference-never-existed-fake-research

Tesla Model S Catches Fire While in Motion – Not Caused by Crash https://insideevs.com/tesla-model-s-catches-fire-while-in-motion-not-caused-by-crash/

The Secret Gay Business Network of Midcentury America https://daily.jstor.org/the-secret-gay-business-network-of-midcentury-america/

Old ideas come back as researchers envision a more structured Web (2015) http://nautil.us/issue/21/information/the-future-of-the-web-is-100-years-old

The race to the riches of asteroids https://physicsworld.com/a/the-asteroid-trillionaires/

Indelible Ink: The Deep History of Tattoo Removal (2013) http://theappendix.net/issues/2013/10/indelible-ink-the-deep-history-of-tattoo-removal

React profiling component to measure the "cost" of rendering https://github.com/bvaughn/rfcs/blob/profiler/text/0000-profiler.md

The Gigantic List of Augmented Reality Use Cases https://uploadvr.com/augmented-reality-use-cases-list/

React-Starter-Kit – Open Source Universal React Redux GraphQL Boilerplate https://github.com/reactjs-starter-kit/React-Starter-Kit

Designing a Collision Avoidance System by Watching Locusts Watch Star Wars https://indianapublicmedia.org/amomentofscience/collision-avoidance-star-wars-locusts/

150-Year Green Card Wait for Indian Immigrants With Advanced Degrees https://www.cato.org/blog/150-year-wait-indian-immigrants-advanced-degrees

How the puffer fish gets you high, zombifies you, and kills you https://io9.gizmodo.com/5879406/how-the-puffer-fish-gets-you-high-zombifies-you-and-kills-you

George Lucas reveals his plan for Star Wars 7 through 9–and it was awful https://arstechnica.com/gaming/2018/06/george-lucas-reveals-his-plan-for-star-wars-7-through-9-and-it-was-awful/

At urging of Minneapolis police, EMS workers subdued dozens with ketamine http://www.startribune.com/at-urging-of-police-hennepin-emts-subdued-dozens-with-powerful-sedative/485607381/

A new form of matter may lie just beyond the periodic table https://m.phys.org/news/2018-06-periodic-table.html

Harvard University ’discriminates against Asian-Americans’ https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-44505355

Harvard Rated Asian-American Applicants Lower on Personality Traits, Suit Says https://nytimes.com/2018/06/15/us/harvard-asian-enrollment-applicants.html

Making Electronics Just Got 25% More Expensive in the US https://hackaday.com/2018/06/15/making-electronics-just-got-25-more-expensive-in-the-us/

66-way merge: “Christ, that’s not an octopus, that’s a Cthulhu merge” https://lkml.org/lkml/2014/1/21/361

Europe’s GDPR Is Killing Email Marketing, to the Disappointment of No One https://gizmodo.com/europes-gdpr-is-killing-email-marketing-to-the-disappo-1826880645