HN:Live JSON revision - 2018-06-24
We got 73 links!

Yakhchal: Ancient Refrigerators http://eartharchitecture.org/?p=570

Show HN: Instagram-scraper: Scrape instagram photos by tags, without API https://github.com/meetmangukiya/instagram-scrapper

Teens Who Hacked Microsoft’s Xbox Empire and Went Too Far https://www.wired.com/story/xbox-underground-videogame-hackers/

Ted Nelson struggles with uncomprehending radio interviewer (1979) [audio] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RVU62CQTXFI

Web Assembly and Go: A look to the future https://brianketelsen.com/web-assembly-and-go-a-look-to-the-future

Masters of Love: Lasting relationships come down to kindness, generosity (2014) https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2014/06/happily-ever-after/372573/?single_page=true

Fullstack Academy is looking for developers who love teaching https://fullstackacademy.workable.com/jobs/186349

Plastic Injection Molding (2015) [video] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RMjtmsr3CqA

Jsonnet – A data templating language https://jsonnet.org/

Silicon die analysis: inside an op amp with interesting “butterfly” transistors http://www.righto.com/2018/06/silicon-die-analysis-op-amp-with.html

Show HN: Optical stripe reading and floppy disk imaging attempt https://www.anfractuosity.com/projects/optical-magnetic-stripe-reading/#start

Show HN: Touch-enabled Gesture Helper for your website https://genielabs.github.io/zkit/docs/controllers/gesture_helper

Loudness Penalty: Find out if audio will be turned down by streaming services http://www.loudnesspenalty.com

What causes the sound of a dripping tap and how do you stop it? https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2018/06/180622104736.htm

Show HN: FireHydrant – A simple incident response tool https://firehydrant.io/

Filezilla installer is suspicious again https://forum.filezilla-project.org/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=48441

C2Rust: translate C into Rust code https://c2rust.com/

Facebook JavaScript SDK is often illegal under GDPR https://markssoftware.com/2018/06/23/facebook-javascript-sdk-is-often-illegal/

When a cold case is solved, why can’t internet sleuths move on? https://theoutline.com/post/4994/when-a-cold-case-is-solved-why-cant-internet-sleuths-move-on

Hacking around with a RealSense depth camera and Python http://erikorndahl.com/about

Memtest86+ probably kills system controller on Lenovo Thinkpad T500 laptop https://bugs.debian.org/900399

Thermostats, Locks and Lights: Digital Tools of Domestic Abuse https://www.nytimes.com/2018/06/23/technology/smart-home-devices-domestic-abuse.html

From Java to Go, and Back Again (2016) https://opencredo.com/java-go-back/

Mutiny Aboard Skylab 4–The Stress of Living in Space https://owlcation.com/humanities/Mutiny-Aboard-Skylab-4

The ACLU’s Longstanding Commitment to Defending Speech We Hate https://www.aclu.org/blog/aclus-longstanding-commitment-defending-speech-we-hate

Supply-demand model of labor markets is broken, preventing pay raises http://www.businessinsider.com/supply-and-demand-model-of-labour-markets-is-fundamentally-broken-2018-6

Learning Cognitive Models Using Neural Networks [pdf] https://arxiv.org/abs/1806.08065

JavaScript: Does It Mutate? https://doesitmutate.xyz

Composing Your Thoughts: On Musical Uncertainty http://nautil.us/issue/61/coordinates/composing-your-thoughts-rp

HardenedBSD: Feature comparison vs other BSD distros http://hardenedbsd.org/content/easy-feature-comparison

Inside Clojure’s Collection Model (2016) http://insideclojure.org/2016/03/16/collections/

Classification of the principal programming paradigms [pdf] http://www.info.ucl.ac.be/people/PVR/paradigmsDIAGRAMeng108.pdf

Glowroot: Open Source Java APM https://glowroot.org/

Show HN: Declarative Testing Framework for REST, GraphQL APIs https://github.com/kiranz/just-api

“They’ll Just Make It Illegal” https://eaves.ca/2018/06/22/theyll-just-make-it-illegal/

Why You Shouldn’t Use Firefox Forks Like Waterfox, Pale Moon, or Basilisk https://www.howtogeek.com/335712/update-why-you-shouldnt-use-waterfox-pale-moon-or-basilisk/

Climate Change First Became News 30 Years Ago. Why Haven’t We Fixed It? https://www.nationalgeographic.com/magazine/2018/07/embark-essay-climate-change-pollution-revkin/?beta=true

MetaFilter comment about public libraries (2012) http://www.metafilter.com/112698/California-Dreamin#4183210

Show HN: Community to help Provlem seeker – Provlem.com https://provlem.com/problems