HN:Live JSON revision - 2018-06-25
We got 96 links!

How SQL Database Engines Work, by the Creator of SQLite (2008) [video] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z_cX3bzkExE

Facebook’s patents show a commitment to collecting personal information https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2018/06/21/opinion/sunday/facebook-patents-privacy.html

Powerful, cheap and Cambodian: Computer dreams being born in the kingdom https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/asia/cambodian-computer-koompi-cheap-10364288

Darpa Literally Reinvented the Wheel for Army Combat Vehicles https://taskandpurpose.com/darpa-wheel-combat-vehicles/

Some clients use SRV lookups, a few (to their embarrassment) do not (2009) https://jdebp.eu/FGA/dns-srv-record-use-by-clients.html

Study reveals how, when a synapse strengthens, its neighbors weaken http://news.mit.edu/2018/mit-scientists-discover-fundamental-rule-of-brain-plasticity-0622

Shouting in the Datacenter (2008) [video] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tDacjrSCeq4

Zimbardo’s Rebuttal Against Recent Criticisms of the Stanford Prison Experiment https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qlEcNiK8CBkJOU1YMyz_OSWIIAq6sMXl/view

Space junk mission deploys from the International Space Station https://www.gov.uk/government/news/space-junk-mission-deploys-from-the-international-space-station

Grand Rapids has become a midwestern economic star generating industrial jobs https://www.city-journal.org/html/manufacturing-comeback-15833.html

Evidence of Ancient Solar Storms in Tree Rings Could Pinpoint Historical Events http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/next/ancient/evidence-of-solar-storms-in-tree-rings-could-help-pinpoint/

How Events Are Reshaping Modern Systems [video] https://www.infoq.com/presentations/systems-event-driven

Kaggle’s Yelp Restaurant Photo Classification Competition, Fast.ai Style https://harveynick.com/2018/06/24/kaggles-yelp-restaurant-photo-classification-competition-fast-ai-style-part-1/

Two Vortex Rings Colliding in Slow Motion [video] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EVbdbVhzcM4

Charon at 40: Four Decades of Discovery on Pluto’s Largest Moon https://www.nasa.gov/feature/charon-at-40-four-decades-of-discovery-on-pluto-s-largest-moon

Beans Were an Ancient Egyptian Emblem of Death https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/favism-fava-beans

Magnetic Sense Helps Billions of Moths on an Australian Migration https://www.nytimes.com/2018/06/21/science/moths-magnetic-australia.html

Show HN: UnityShell, a “shell” for the Unity Editor https://github.com/marijnz/unity-shell

After harsh criticism, Facebook quietly pulls services from developing countries https://theoutline.com/post/4383/facebook-quietly-ended-free-basics-in-myanmar-and-other-countries

One Codex is hiring front end engineers to build its microbiome data platform https://jobs.onecodex.com/o/software-engineer-front-end

How Many Miles of Driving to Demonstrate Autonomous Vehicle Reliability? (2016) https://www.rand.org/pubs/research_reports/RR1478.html

Feynman Did you take the doors? http://home.agh.edu.pl/~szymon/humor/feynman.html

Thousands of Mobile Apps Leak Data from Firebase Databases https://www.securityweek.com/thousands-mobile-apps-leak-data-firebase-databases

Show HN: GitCash - On-Chain Bitcoin Cash Tipping on GitHub https://gitcash.io

Microsoft AI School https://aischool.microsoft.com

Suicides Have Increased. Is This an Existential Crisis? https://www.nytimes.com/2018/06/23/opinion/sunday/suicide-rate-existential-crisis.html

One hundred js beautiful clock code https://a-jie.github.io/clock-shop/

Show HN: HN Mail – A topic-based newsletter service for Hacker News https://hnmail.io/

PeerTube: A ‘Censorship’ Resistent YouTube Alternative https://torrentfreak.com/peertube-a-censorship-resistent-youtube-alternative-180623/

How startups die from their addiction to paid marketing http://andrewchen.co/paid-marketing-addiction/

German nuclear plant infected with computer viruses, operator says (2016) https://www.reuters.com/article/us-nuclearpower-cyber-germany-idUSKCN0XN2OS

The Origin and History of Apache Arrow https://www.dremio.com/origin-history-of-apache-arrow/

Polynomial Regression as an Alternative to Neural Nets https://arxiv.org/abs/1806.06850

Inside the bad math that lets Coca-Cola say it gives back all the water it uses https://www.theverge.com/2018/5/31/17377964/coca-cola-water-sustainability-recycling-controversy-investigation

’Hot Dog Water’ seller in Vancouver gets laughs to prove point https://www.ctvnews.ca/lifestyle/hot-dog-water-seller-in-vancouver-gets-laughs-to-prove-point-1.3984356

Inside the Crypto World’s Biggest Scandal https://www.wired.com/story/tezos-blockchain-love-story-horror-story/

What I’m Telling Business People About Why Relational Databases Are So Bad https://codeburst.io/what-im-telling-business-people-about-why-relational-databases-are-so-bad-6f38d3d6c995

Commodore 64 IDE+compiler+programming language http://www.lemonspawn.com/turbo-rascal-syntax-error-expected-but-begin/

Rebel girls and children’s books: In defense of well-behaved women https://slate.com/culture/2018/06/rebel-girls-and-childrens-books-in-defense-of-well-behaved-women.html

Microsoft’s ICE involvement illustrates tech’s denial problem https://www.engadget.com/2018/06/22/microsofts-ice-involvement-tech-denial-problem/

Why is it called a Fibonacci Heap? https://amoffat.github.io/blog/fibonacci-heap?hn=1

Trader builds real $5B position on what he thought was a demo program https://www.cnbc.com/2018/06/21/trader-builds-5-billion-position-after-realizing-it-wasnt-a-demo.html

Saudi Arabia is about to spend millions to turn Qatar into an island https://www.vox.com/2018/6/21/17485754/saudi-arabia-qatar-gulf-island

Head Detection Using YOLO Algorithm https://github.com/pranoyr/head-detection-using-yolo

Apple admits its MacBook Pro butterfly keyboards utterly suck https://www.theregister.co.uk/2018/06/23/apple_macbook_keyboard_replacement_free/

The Supreme Court Will Decide If Apple’s App Store Is a Monopoly https://www.wired.com/story/pepper-v-apple-supreme-court-app-store-antitrust/

Skypeopensource: Repository unavailable due to DMCA takedown https://github.com/skypeopensource/skypeopensource