HN:Live JSON revision - 2018-06-26
We got 107 links!

We’re Baking ‘Have I Been Pwned’ into Firefox and 1Password https://www.troyhunt.com/were-baking-have-i-been-pwned-into-firefox-and-1password/

I realized that derivatives are linear https://codesmoothie.com/blog/derivatives-are-linear.html

Why nobody ever wins the car at the mall https://thehustle.co/why-nobody-ever-wins-the-mall-car-giveaway

STARTTLS Everywhere https://starttls-everywhere.org/

Scale API (YC S16) is hiring engineers to build human perception as a service https://www.scaleapi.com/about#jobs

Show HN: Maskmail – anonymous email address service https://www.maskmail.net/

DEDA – Tracking Dots Extraction, Decoding and Anonymisation Toolkit https://github.com/dfd-tud/deda

Thermostats, Locks and Lights: Digital Tools of Domestic Abuse https://mobile.nytimes.com/2018/06/23/technology/smart-home-devices-domestic-abuse.html

Homemade GPS Receiver (2013) http://www.aholme.co.uk/GPS/Main.htm

The F-106A That Flew Itself – After the Pilot Ejected, Landing Gently in a Field https://www.warhistoryonline.com/history/plane-flew-pilot-ejected-f-106a-flew-miles-landing-gently-field.html

The Case for Shared Nothing (1986) [pdf] http://db.cs.berkeley.edu/papers/hpts85-nothing.pdf

AT&T confirms it is buying ad platform AppNexus reportedly for between $1.6B-$2B https://techcrunch.com/2018/06/25/att-appnexus/

Parsing with Derivatives: A Functional Pearl (2011) [pdf] http://matt.might.net/papers/might2011derivatives.pdf

Introducing A16Z Crypto https://a16zcrypto.com/

Monitoring the Fermentation of Sourdough Starter with Computer Vision http://justinmklam.com/posts/2018/06/sourdough-starter-monitor/

FDA approves first marijuana-derived drug and it may spark DEA rescheduling https://arstechnica.com/science/2018/06/fda-approves-first-marijuana-derived-drug-and-it-may-spark-dea-rescheduling/

Docker Considered Harmful (2016) http://catern.com/posts/docker.html

Intercepting and Emulating Linux System Calls with Ptrace http://nullprogram.com/blog/2018/06/23/

‘A Powerful Signal of Recessions’ Has Wall Street’s Attention https://www.nytimes.com/2018/06/25/business/what-is-yield-curve-recession-prediction.html

Notes on Discrete Mathematics (2017) [pdf] http://www.cs.yale.edu/homes/aspnes/classes/202/notes.pdf

Applying auction mechanisms to meeting scheduling (2010) [pdf] https://www.seas.harvard.edu/sites/default/files/files/archived/Xu.pdf

An alternative to shared libraries (2008) https://www.kix.in/2008/06/19/an-alternative-to-shared-libraries/

Wendelstein 7-X achieves world record http://www.ipp.mpg.de/4413312/04_18

Why Founders Fail: The Product CEO Paradox (2013) https://a16z.com/2013/10/04/why-founders-fail-the-product-ceo-paradox/

Restaurants are figuring out how to do without servers https://www.nytimes.com/2018/06/25/dining/san-francisco-restaurants-service.html

Uber Game – can you break even? https://ig.ft.com/uber-game#hack

​GitLab Moves from Azure to Google Cloud Platform https://www.zdnet.com/article/gitlab-moves-from-azure-to-google-cloud-platform/

The NSA’s Hidden Spy Hubs in Eight U.S. Cities https://theintercept.com/2018/06/25/att-internet-nsa-spy-hubs/

Oxy – A Security Focused Remote Access Tool https://oxy-secure.app/

Firefox Developer Tools: Accessibility inspector https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Tools/Accessibility_inspector

DevTube: Searchable index of developer videos https://dev.tube/

John Oliver is erased from Chinese internet following segment on China https://techcrunch.com/2018/06/25/john-oliver-is-erased-from-chinese-internet-following-segment-on-china/

RISC-V Hardware So Far Isn’t Entirely Open-Source https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=RISC-V-Not-All-Open-Yet

MongoDB 4.0 will add support for multi-document transactions https://www.mongodb.com/transactions

Announcing STARTTLS Everywhere: Securing Hop-To-Hop Email Delivery https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2018/06/announcing-starttls-everywhere-securing-hop-hop-email-delivery

Show HN: ReactScrollShadow – CSS shadow to indicate scrollable area https://github.com/zzarcon/react-scroll-shadow

Borders and populations of countries in Europe each year since 400 BC [video] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UY9P0QSxlnI

Volkswagen’s Electric Car Just Broke the All-Time Record at Pikes Peak https://jalopnik.com/volkswagens-electric-car-just-broke-the-all-time-record-1827087085

Making a low level Linux debugger, part 2: C https://blog.asrpo.com/making_a_low_level_debugger_part_2

It’s Time to Learn about Quantum Computing https://www.wired.com/story/time-you-learned-about-quantum-computing

An Illustrated Guide to SSH Agent Forwarding http://www.unixwiz.net/techtips/ssh-agent-forwarding.html

Big Tech Isn’t the Problem with Homelessness. It’s All of Us https://www.wired.com/story/big-tech-isnt-the-problem-with-homelessness-its-all-of-us/

Seattle is building more apartments from 2015-2020 than in the previous 50 yrs https://mobile.twitter.com/ByRosenberg/status/1011305121290940416

Some PC games have ad-tracking software installed https://www.engadget.com/2018/06/21/pc-gaming-red-shell-software/

Tech giant Tencent has joined the Linux Foundation as a Platinum member https://www.neowin.net/news/tech-giant-tencent-has-joined-the-linux-foundation-as-a-platinum-member

FDA approves country’s first medicine made from marijuana https://www.statnews.com/2018/06/25/fda-approves-countrys-first-medicine-made-from-marijuana

’New Zealand wants you’: the problem with tech at the edge of the world https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/jun/25/new-zealand-wants-you-the-problem-with-tech-at-the-edge-of-the-world

3 Powerful Ways to Uplift Yourself When You Hit a Low Point in Life https://medium.com/swlh/3-powerful-ways-to-uplift-yourself-when-you-hit-a-low-point-in-life-bb32574b97d7

Point Roberts,an American City Embedded in Canada https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/point-roberts

Free Server Monitoring/APM Solutions for Startups and SysAdmins https://haydenjames.io/free-linux-server-monitoring-apm-sysadmins/

[Article] What Can I Do with Python? https://realpython.com/what-can-i-do-with-python/

Write Better CSS: From Hell to Heaven http://blog.theodo.fr/2018/06/write-better-css-part-1/

First space, then auto–now Elon Musk quietly tinkers with education https://arstechnica.com/science/2018/06/first-space-then-auto-now-elon-musk-quietly-tinkers-with-education/

Microsoft uses Quorum to track royalty payments to video game publishers https://www.itnews.com.au/news/microsoft-turns-to-blockchain-to-track-royalty-payments-495361

Windows 98 20th Anniversary All New PC Build [video] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nM5uNxtT0Mk

Stewart Butterfield spent the first five years of his life living on a commune https://www.bbc.com/news/business-44550312

Asian Americans are the least likely in the US to be promoted to management https://hbr.org/2018/05/asian-americans-are-the-least-likely-group-in-the-u-s-to-be-promoted-to-management

Mozilla bakes ‘Have I Been Pwned’ into Firefox’s new privacy tool https://thenextweb.com/security/2018/06/26/mozilla-bakes-have-i-been-pwned-into-firefoxs-new-privacy-tool/

SF Restaurants Can’t Afford Waiters. So They’re Putting Diners to Work https://mobile.nytimes.com/2018/06/25/dining/san-francisco-restaurants-service.html

Moving from Azure to Google Cloud Platform https://about.gitlab.com/2018/06/25/moving-to-gcp/

With Cryptocurrencies in Free Fall, One Big Firm Doubles Down https://www.nytimes.com/2018/06/25/technology/andreessen-horowitz-cryptocurrencies-fund.html

AI bots trained for 180 years a day to beat humans at Dota 2 https://www.theverge.com/2018/6/25/17492918/openai-dota-2-bot-ai-five-5v5-matches