HN:Live JSON revision - 2018-07-11
We got 136 links!

Goodbye Microservices: From 100s of problem children to 1 superstar https://segment.com/blog/goodbye-microservices/

Firefox switching to clang-cl for Windows builds https://groups.google.com/forum/m/#!topic/mozilla.dev.platform/wwO48xXFx0A

Former Apple Employee Charged with Theft of Autonomous Car Project Trade Secrets https://www.macrumors.com/2018/07/10/apple-employee-steals-trade-secrets/

What’s up with the mysterious inc bp in function prologues of 16-bit code? https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/oldnewthing/20110316-00/?p=11203/

Bitwarden - Open Source Password Manager https://bitwarden.com/

Use of drugs by people seeking to boost mental performance is rising worldwide https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-018-05599-8

Arm kills off its anti-RISC-V site after own staff revolt https://www.theregister.co.uk/AMP/2018/07/10/arm_riscv_website/

Gravwell Community Edition: A Splunk Alternative Built with Go https://www.gravwell.io/blog/gravwell-community-edition

Xendit (YC S15) Is Hiring VP Engineering in Jakarta https://www.linkedin.com/jobs/view/vp-engineering-at-xendit-748821074

Shutting Down the BGP Hijack Factory https://dyn.com/blog/shutting-down-the-bgp-hijack-factory/

Runq – Runc-based runtime to run regular Docker images in KVM/Qemu https://github.com/gotoz/runq/

The only cheat sheet you need https://github.com/chubin/cheat.sh

Comparing Serverless Performance for CPU Bound Tasks https://blog.cloudflare.com/serverless-performance-with-cpu-bound-tasks/?h

If Videogames and Apps Are Addictive, Should Designers Worry about Liability? https://www.socialgameslaw.com/2018/07/videogames-apps-legal-liability.html

A California mall operator is sharing license plate tracking data with ICE https://techcrunch.com/2018/07/10/alpr-license-plate-recognition-ice-irvine-company/

‘No Poach’ Deals for Fast-Food Workers Face Scrutiny https://www.nytimes.com/2018/07/09/business/no-poach-fast-food-wages.html

RISC-V Community: "ARM Architecture: Understand the Facts" https://www.arm-basics.com/

Arch Linux AUR Repository Found to Contain Malware https://sensorstechforum.com/arch-linux-aur-repository-found-contain-malware/

ICO Investigation into the use of data analytics in political campaigns [pdf] https://ico.org.uk/media/action-weve-taken/2259371/investigation-into-data-analytics-for-political-purposes-update.pdf

Show HN: Five Thousand Novels, Ranked by Vividness http://www.prosecraft.io/analysis/vividness/percentile/#50

Translation Leak-Aside Buffer: Defeating Cache Side-Channel Protections [pdf] https://www.vusec.net/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/tlbleed-author-preprint.pdf

Fathom – Simple, trustworthy website analytics https://usefathom.com

Speculative buffer overflows: attacks and defenses. (Spectre BCBS) [pdf] https://people.csail.mit.edu/vlk/spectre11.pdf

The seeming irrationality of a well-tuned emotional system https://qz.com/1313944/being-rational-all-the-time-isnt-going-to-do-you-any-favors/

Cambodian Dancers, Auguste Rodin, and the Imperial Imagination (2014) http://theappendix.net/issues/2014/10/cambodian-dancers-auguste-rodin-and-the-imperial-imagination

Fast Programmable Match-Action Processing in Hardware for SDN (2013) [pdf] http://yuba.stanford.edu/~grg/docs/sdn-chip-sigcomm-2013.pdf

Calling the world cup goals 5 seconds before they happen on TV https://blog.benjojo.co.uk/post/beating-the-broadcast-delay-world-cup

Intel Active Management Technology Security Review Cumulative Update https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/security-center/advisory/intel-sa-00112.html

Let’s celebrate Hugo’s 5th birthday https://gohugo.io/news/lets-celebrate-hugos-5th-birthday/

A Landmark Legal Shift Opens Pandora’s Box for DIY Guns https://www.wired.com/story/a-landmark-legal-shift-opens-pandoras-box-for-diy-guns/

Researchers Unmask Anonymous Twitter Accounts With 97% Accuracy Using ML https://www.wired.co.uk/article/twitter-metadata-user-privacy

Netflix introduces Lemur: x.509 certificate orchestration (2015) https://medium.com/netflix-techblog/introducing-lemur-ceae8830f621

How to start a lab when funds are tight https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-018-05655-3

Fedora CoreOS, Red Hat CoreOS, and the future of Container Linux https://coreos.com/blog/fedora-coreos-red-hat-coreos-and-future-container-linux

PayPal told customer her death breached its rules https://www.bbc.com/news/amp/technology-44783779

Interviewing expert marketers https://billmei.net/blog/marketing

Hobbyists Lose Fight to Escape the FAA’s Toy Drone Rules https://gizmodo.com/hobbyists-lose-fight-to-escape-the-faas-toy-drone-rules-1827403156

Arpadyne – The New Internet (no DNS and no web servers) https://blog.computes.com/arpadyne-the-new-internet-eb6a42181a2

Show HN: After Dark – A retro dark theme for Hugo https://themes.gohugo.io/after-dark/

How Silicon Valley Fuels an Informal Caste System https://www.wired.com/story/how-silicon-valley-fuels-an-informal-caste-system/

Show HN: Colivingly, a coliving community for makers https://coliving.ly/

Google Was Not Normal: Brin, Page, Mayer on the Company That Changed Everything https://www.vanityfair.com/news/2018/07/valley-of-genius-excerpt-google

Ghostery now displaying Ads in Germany, marketed as “Rewards” program https://www.reddit.com/r/firefox/comments/8xpu9i/ghostery_now_displaying_ads_in_germany_marketed/

Amazon and Orlando Cops’ Controversial Face Recognition Pilot Isn’t Over https://gizmodo.com/amazon-and-orlando-cops-controversial-face-recognition-1827483145

Apple wrote code to appease the Chinese government...it was buggy https://objective-see.com/blog/blog_0x34.html

Napoleon as Organizational Designer (2009) [pdf] http://www.dtic.mil/dtic/tr/fulltext/u2/a501580.pdf

Tesla plans China factory that can make 500,000 vehicles a year http://www.latimes.com/business/autos/la-fi-hy-tesla-china-20180710-story.html

Something in the Water: Life After Mercury Poisoning (2017) https://daily.jstor.org/life-after-mercury-poisoning/

Argh-P-M – Dissecting the RPM file format https://blog.bethselamin.de/posts/argh-pm.html

Musk’s mini-submarine ‘not practical’ for Thailand cave rescue, say authorities https://www.theverge.com/2018/7/10/17552276/elon-musk-thailand-cave-rescue-mini-submarine-not-needed

Russian company had access to Facebook user data through apps https://money.cnn.com/2018/07/10/technology/mailru-facebook-russia/index.html

Facebook’s Push for Facial Recognition Prompts Privacy Alarms https://www.nytimes.com/2018/07/09/technology/facebook-facial-recognition-privacy.html

Bacteria-detecting strip of plastic film could make best-before dates irrelevant https://www.cbc.ca/news/technology/salmonella-listeria-dna-ultraviolet-light-1.4736801

Show HN: Discover the defaults key of any macOS preference https://twitter.com/FiloSottile/status/1016495719665020935

Show HN: Terminal based Git interactive rebase editor written in Rust https://github.com/MitMaro/git-interactive-rebase-tool

China’s destructive laser rifle has a half-mile range https://www.popsci.com/china-laser-rifle-energy-weapon

PostgreSQL: Modeling for Concurrency https://tapoueh.org/blog/2018/07/modeling-for-concurrency/

Frequent sauna bathing protects men against dementia https://www.uef.fi/en/-/runsas-saunominen-suojaa-miehia-muistisairaudelta

Warner Bros. wants to build a $100M aerial tramway to the Hollywood sign http://www.latimes.com/business/hollywood/la-fi-ct-hollywood-sign-sky-tram-20180710-story.html

Minimal Ubuntu, on Public Clouds and Docker Hub https://blog.ubuntu.com/2018/07/09/minimal-ubuntu-released

US corporations announced $437B of buybacks in Q2 2018, doubling previous record https://money.cnn.com/2018/07/10/investing/stock-buybacks-record-tax-cuts/index.html

Monsanto ’bullied scientists’ and hid weedkiller cancer risk, lawyer tells court https://www.theguardian.com/business/2018/jul/09/monsanto-trial-roundup-weedkiller-cancer-dewayne-johnson

Device for testing malaria without need for blood wins top engineering prize https://www.iafrikan.com/2018/07/09/device-for-testing-malaria-without-a-need-for-drawing-blood-wins-a-top-prize/

Show HN: DevFlip: Marketplace for Video Game Developers https://devflip.com

Show HN: A modern macOS markdown editor (work in progress) https://github.com/lukakerr/twig

ARM Launches “Facts” Campaign Against RISC-V https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=ARM-RISC-V-Facts

In Hong Kong, flats really are cheaper when they contain the number 4 https://blog.dataguru.hk/2018/07/10/hong-kong-higher-floors-are-more-expensive-and-4-is-avoided/

Kubernetes Is the Platform. What’s Next? – Questions and Answers https://www.redhat.com/en/blog/kubernetes-platform-what%E2%80%99s-next-questions-and-answers

Crafting Interpreters http://craftinginterpreters.com/

Talent vs. Luck: the role of randomness in success and failure https://arxiv.org/abs/1802.07068v2

How to Monetize a Blog: Advice from a Blog That Makes Money https://www.codeinwp.com/blog/how-to-monetize-a-blog/

Twitter Data Science Interview Questions – Acing the AI Interview https://medium.com/acing-ai/twitter-data-science-interview-questions-acing-the-ai-interview-f8204a97159f