HN:Live JSON revision - 2018-09-04
We got 86 links!

Show HN: Select Star SQL, an interactive SQL book http://selectstarsql.com

Stellarium Web: Online Planetarium https://stellarium-web.org/

How LLVM Optimizes a Function https://blog.regehr.org/archives/1603

A Containerized Polyglot Microservices on Kubernetes and Service Mesh https://github.com/vietnam-devs/coolstore-microservices

MIT Energy Initiative study reports on the future of nuclear energy http://news.mit.edu/2018/mitei-releases-report-future-nuclear-energy-0904

Amazon Sets Its Sights on the $88B Online Ad Market https://www.nytimes.com/2018/09/03/business/media/amazon-digital-ads.html

Why I never finish my Haskell programs https://blog.plover.com/2018/09/03/#what-goes-wrong

Princess Alice disaster: The Thames’ 650 forgotten dead https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-london-44800309

Wasabi: A Framework for Dynamically Analyzing WebAssembly http://wasabi.software-lab.org/

Why the Navy Misses the Old F-14 Tomcat, Despite All of the Problems https://nationalinterest.org/blog/buzz/why-navy-misses-old-f-14-tomcat-despite-all-problems-30367

7 is the largest prime followed by a cubic number https://jott.live/texdown/cubic_prime

Lisp-Flavoured Erlang http://lfe.io/

RPCS3 and Dolphin on macOS using gfx-portability https://gfx-rs.github.io/2018/09/03/rpcs3-dolphin.html

Modern C++: 7 Ways to Fake It Until You Have It https://www.fluentcpp.com/2018/08/31/modern-cpp-fake-it-until-you-have-it/

Scientists pioneer a new way to turn sunlight into fuel https://www.joh.cam.ac.uk/scientists-pioneer-new-way-turn-sunlight-fuel

Interactive Camera Simulator http://photography-mapped.com/interact.html

The acceptance of bad scientific practice to the benefit of productivity http://backreaction.blogspot.com/2018/09/science-has-problem-and-we-must-talk.html

Unexpected benefit with Ryzen – reducing power for build server http://lists.dragonflybsd.org/pipermail/users/2018-September/357883.html

Why the world is full of buttons that don’t work https://www.cnn.com/style/article/placebo-buttons-design/index.html

Make plastic printed circuits with a standard laser cutter [video] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z228xymQYho

Notes on “A Philosophy of Software Design.” https://lethain.com//notes-philosophy-software-design/

First Ring System Around Asteroid (2014) https://www.eso.org/public/news/eso1410/

Discovering and Cycling Japan’s Biggest Climb http://regex.info/blog/2018-09-03/2870

The Path to Biological Numeracy http://book.bionumbers.org/

Loopholes and the ’Anti-Realism’ of the Quantum World https://www.wired.com/story/quantum-world-anti-realism/

Editing my blog’s HTTP headers with Cloudflare Workers https://jvns.ca/blog/2018/09/03/editing-my-blog-s-http-headers-with-cloudflare-workers/

Show HN: Feediary – RSS reader with zero tracking and zero ads https://feediary.com/

Zeus (YC S11) Is Hiring Engineers to Change Housing https://jobs.lever.co/zeus

Source for theguardian.com https://github.com/guardian/frontend

Show HN: I am building a community to help 10 people find a job every day https://www.jobroz.com

Show HN: Code Along Video Series – Codemy.net https://www.codemy.net/posts

Egypt says village found in Nile Delta predated pharaohs https://phys.org/news/2018-09-egypt-village-nile-delta-predated.html

Show HN: Lightcube, a Game Written in Octaspire Dern https://octaspire.io

Deep Angel: AI that erases objects from images http://deepangel.media.mit.edu/

Skype U-turns on Snapchat-like features after complaints https://www.bbc.com/news/technology-45395834

Unpaid and abused: Moderators speak out against Reddit https://www.engadget.com/2018/08/31/reddit-moderators-speak-out/

Show HN: A simple order page for freelancers https://workorder.io

Show HN: three-geo – Geographic visualization with three.js https://github.com/w3reality/three-geo

Life Aboard the Rocket Ship: An Interview with an Anonymous Engineer https://logicmag.io/05-life-aboard-the-rocket-ship/

Supreme Court to Rule Whether Pirate Streaming Damages Are Fair – TorrentFreak https://torrentfreak.com/supreme-court-to-rule-whether-pirate-streaming-damages-are-fair-180903/

Instagram is down https://www.instagram.com/

Rust Distilled: An Expressive Tower of Languages [pdf] https://dbp.io/pubs/2018/rust-distilled.pdf

Show HN: ES6 iterators library https://github.com/labs42io/itiriri

Show HN: GitHunt – GitHub Trending Page on Steroids https://kamranahmed.info/githunt/

Just out: The truth about Waymo https://twitter.com/amir/status/1034442936774258688