HN:Live JSON revision - 2018-10-06
We got 111 links!

Apple Insiders Say Nobody Knows What’s Going on with Bloomberg’s Hack Story https://www.buzzfeednews.com/article/johnpaczkowski/apple-china-hacking-bloomberg-servers-spies-fbi

An artwork by Banksy shredded itself after selling for $1.3M at Sotheby’s https://www.artsy.net/news/artsy-editorial-artwork-banksy-shredded-selling-13-million-sothebys

The First Rule of Microsoft Excel: Don’t Tell Anyone You’re Good at It https://www.wsj.com/articles/the-first-rule-of-microsoft-exceldont-tell-anyone-youre-good-at-it-1538754380

Microsoft is embracing Android as the mobile version of Windows https://www.theverge.com/2018/10/3/17933644/microsoft-android-apps-windows-10-app-mirroring-report

Darpa Is Making Insects That Can Deliver Bioweapons, Scientists Claim https://www.newsweek.com/darpa-biological-weapons-insects-scientists-warn-1152834

The Awful German Language (1880) https://www.cs.utah.edu/~gback/awfgrmlg.html

Bring Your Custom Image to DigitalOcean https://blog.digitalocean.com/custom-images/

Firefox to support Google’s WebP image format for a faster web https://www.cnet.com/news/firefox-to-support-googles-webp-image-format-for-a-faster-web/

K-map, the weird cousin of k-anonymity (2017) https://desfontain.es/privacy/k-map.html

Libnop: C++ Native Object Protocols https://github.com/google/libnop

How I Judge the Quality of Documentation in 30 Seconds (2014) http://ericholscher.com/blog/2014/feb/27/how-i-judge-documentation-quality/

Deliverr raises $7M to help e-commerce businesses compete with Amazon Prime https://techcrunch.com/2018/10/05/deliverr-raises-7m-to-help-e-commerce-businesses-compete-with-amazon-prime/

State of the Art: Reproducibility in Artificial Intelligence [pdf] https://www.aaai.org/ocs/index.php/AAAI/AAAI18/paper/viewFile/17248/15864

Can technology make the Herculaneum scrolls legible after 2,000 years? (2015) https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2015/11/16/the-invisible-library

Show HN: Monero Web Miner for Low-Tech Static Sites https://after-dark.habd.as/module/toxic-swamp/

Mux is hiring engineers to help build AI powered video streaming https://jobs.mux.com

National Theater in London Offers Glasses with Live Subtitles https://www.nytimes.com/2018/10/03/theater/uk-national-theatre-smart-glasses.html

The iPhone XS and XS Max Review: Unveiling the Silicon Secrets https://www.anandtech.com/show/13392/the-iphone-xs-xs-max-review-unveiling-the-silicon-secrets

Yuki Kawauchi Is Distance Running’s Elite Oddball https://www.nytimes.com/2018/10/04/sports/yuki-kawauchi-marathon.html

Amazon private label brands are quietly taking over Amazon.com https://qz.com/1414238/secret-amazon-brands-are-quietly-taking-over-amazon-com/

California to ban weak default passwords on internet-connected devices https://www.theregister.co.uk/2018/10/04/california_iot_password/

Internet Archive is adding in-browser emulation support for Commodore 64 https://twitter.com/textfiles/status/1048017789884067840

How Our Marketing Team Spends Money Each Month https://open.buffer.com/marketing-budget/

Tesla Q3 2018 Vehicle Safety Report https://www.tesla.com/blog/q3-2018-vehicle-safety-report

The Apollo Breach Included Billions of Data Points https://www.wired.com/story/apollo-breach-linkedin-salesforce-data/

Sorry to Crush Your Dreams, but We’re Not Colonizing Space Anytime Soon https://www.tor.com/2018/10/05/sorry-to-crush-your-dreams-but-were-not-colonizing-space-anytime-soon/

A modern annotated code companion to Paul Graham’s “On Lisp” https://github.com/DalekBaldwin/on-lisp

Europe is drawing fresh battle lines around the ethics of big data https://techcrunch.com/2018/10/03/europe-is-drawing-fresh-battle-lines-around-the-ethics-of-big-data/

Bloomberg’s chip story reveals murky world of national security reporting https://techcrunch.com/2018/10/04/bloomberg-spy-chip-murky-world-national-security-reporting/

Heat Storage Hypocausts: Air Heating in the Middle Ages (2017) http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2017/03/heat-storage-hypocausts-air-heating-middle-ages.html

Show HN: Gallery of iOS controls https://cocoa.rocks

How blind players succeed at sports video games they’ve never seen https://arstechnica.com/gaming/2018/03/how-blind-players-succeed-at-sports-video-games-theyve-never-seen/

The Best Article Ever Written About Bragging https://www.lesspenguiny.com/articles/best-article-on-bragging

New in Postgres 11: Monitoring JIT Performance, Auto Prewarm, Stored Procedures https://pganalyze.com/blog/postgres11-jit-compilation-auto-prewarm-sql-stored-procedures

Lost in Occupation: How Google Maps Is Erasing Palestine https://972mag.com/mapping-occupation-how-google-erases-palestine-from-its-maps/138008/

Facebook User Who Uploaded Pirated ‘Deadpool’ Copy Sentenced to 3 Weeks Prison https://torrentfreak.com/facebook-user-who-uploaded-pirated-deadpool-copy-sentenced-to-3-weeks-prison-181005/

Interpol chief Meng Hongwei vanishes on trip to China https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-45761466

Astro’s Elroy Personal EVTOL in Flight Testing https://www.flyingmag.com/astro-elroy-personal-vtol-flight-tests?enews100218

More Than 150 Vulnerabilities Discovered in US Marine Corp Websites https://sensorstechforum.com/150-vulnerabilities-us-marine-corp/

Vitalik’s Response to the Post “The Collapse of ETH Is Inevitable” https://np.reddit.com/r/ethtrader/comments/9ch5ls/the_collapse_of_eth_is_inevitable_techcrunch_can/

Logisim-evolution: Digital logic designer and simulator https://github.com/reds-heig/logisim-evolution

Show HN: Fastgrep – Find and organize your Slack team’s links and files https://www.fastgrepbot.com/

RediSQL, SQL steroids for Redis https://redisql.com/

Show HN: Presidential Alert Generator https://www.presidentialalert.app/

Announcing Camelot, a Python Library to Extract Tabular Data from PDFs https://hackernoon.com/announcing-camelot-a-python-library-to-extract-tabular-data-from-pdfs-605f8e63c2d5

Grindr Will Now Have to Sue Fuckr to Keep Controversial Tool Down https://torrentfreak.com/grindr-will-now-have-to-sue-fuckr-to-keep-controversial-tool-down-180930/

Depreciation of Peso Leads to Argentina Installing 2000 Bitcoin ATMs https://beincrypto.com/when-fiat-falls-flat-cryptocurrency-atms-financial-relief-south-america/

Elon Musk to pay for water stations, filtration at all Flint schools https://www.mlive.com/news/flint/index.ssf/2018/10/elon_musk_to_pay_for_water_sta.html

Show HN: DevFlight – Onboard open-source projects to cloud marketplaces https://about.devflight.com

Latest Windows 10 October 2018 Update Is Wiping Out User Data https://wccftech.com/windows-10-october-2018-update-deleting-user-data/

Jeff Bezos Is Planning to Ship ‘Several Metric Tons of Cargo’ to the Moon https://motherboard.vice.com/en_us/article/kzjppa/jeff-bezos-planning-to-ship-cargo-to-moon

Alleged Super Micro spy-chip: What do we know – and who is telling the truth? https://www.theregister.co.uk/2018/10/04/supermicro_bloomberg/

Russia’s elite hacking unit has been silent, but busy https://www.zdnet.com/article/russias-elite-hacking-unit-has-been-silent-but-busy/

Scientists Have Connected the Brains of 3 People, Enabling Them to Share Thought https://www.sciencealert.com/brain-to-brain-mind-connection-lets-three-people-share-thoughts

I spent 53 minutes in Amazon Go and saw the future of retail https://www.cnn.com/2018/10/03/tech/amazon-go/index.html

Show HN: Array Animation Language https://bagnalla.github.io/AAL/

Show HN: Unicorn Platform – HTML landing page generator https://unicornplatform.com