HN:Live JSON revision - 2018-10-18
We got 122 links!

Modern Microprocessors – A 90-Minute Guide (2001-2016) http://www.lighterra.com/papers/modernmicroprocessors/

US Announces Withdraw From Postal Treaty https://www.bbc.com/news/business-45894346

Dandelion Seeds Fly Using ‘Impossible’ Method Never Before Seen in Nature https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-018-07084-8

Ways people trying to do good accidentally do harm instead and how to avoid them https://80000hours.org/articles/accidental-harm/

Good sleep, good learning, good life (2012) https://www.supermemo.com/en/articles/sleep

Stripe Integration for Twilio Pay https://stripe.com/blog/phone-payments-with-twilio-pay

SiFive: Design custom RISC‑V CPUs https://www.sifive.com

Building a Cross-Browser, Cross-Platform, Real-Time Game Streaming Protocol https://blog.rainway.io/building-a-cross-browser-cross-platform-real-time-game-streaming-protocol-b00d000fe788

Orkney islands could get first electric plane service https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-north-east-orkney-shetland-45876604

Uber’s Big Data Platform: 100+ Petabytes with Minute Latency https://eng.uber.com/uber-big-data-platform/

TSA announces “biometrics vision for all commercial aviation travelers” https://papersplease.org/wp/2018/10/15/tsa-announces-biometrics-vision-for-all-commercial-aviation-travelers/

Code hidden in Stone Age art may be the root of human writing (2016) https://www.newscientist.com/article/mg23230990-700-in-search-of-the-very-first-coded-symbols/

Domain Storytelling: A DDD tool to visualize domain stories in the browser http://domainstorytelling.org/

Helm: Personal Email Server https://thehelm.com

Formality – An efficient programming language and proof assistant https://github.com/maiavictor/formality

A university IT guy plans to bid in two government airwave auctions http://fortune.com/2018/10/17/5g-spectrum-auction-bidders-fcc/

Are Black Holes Actually Dark Energy Stars? http://nautil.us/blog/are-black-holes-actually-dark-energy-stars

Show HN: App Academy Open – Free Online Coding Bootcamp https://open.appacademy.io/

CodeStream Master Plan: addressing the messaging gap for developers with markers https://dev.to/ppezaris/codestream-master-plan-5boh

Open sourcing TRFL: a library of reinforcement learning building blocks https://deepmind.com/blog/trfl/

The Google Pixel 3 Is a Very Good Phone. But Maybe Phones Have Gone Too Far https://www.buzzfeednews.com/article/mathonan/google-pixel-3-review-android

Anti-Tax Fervor Closed Their Libraries. Now Residents Are Trying to Go It Alone https://www.nytimes.com/2018/10/17/us/oregon-library-taxes.html

The American Circus in All Its Glory https://www.neh.gov/article/american-circus-all-its-glory

Ultimate Writer: An Open Digital Typewriter https://alternativebit.fr/posts/ultimate-writer/

Securing your users’ authentication https://www.stavros.io/posts/securing-user-authentication/

Grand Theft Auto ’cheats’ homes raided https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-45891126

Show HN: Beat my tank through strategy and programming https://github.com/huangyz0918/TankLogo

During Google’s early self-driving tests, there were over “a dozen accidents” https://arstechnica.com/cars/2018/10/during-googles-early-self-driving-tests-there-were-over-a-dozen-accidents/

Mistress of a New World: Early Science Fiction in Europe’s “Age of Discovery” https://publicdomainreview.org/2018/10/11/mistress-of-a-new-world-early-science-fiction-in-europes-age-of-discovery/

IT repairman seeks home for Apple collection, possibly world’s largest https://ca.reuters.com/article/technologyNews/idCAKCN1MR2AD-OCATC

What to do once you admit that decentralizing everything never seems to work https://hackernoon.com/decentralizing-everything-never-seems-to-work-2bb0461bd168

Librem 5 general development report – October https://puri.sm/posts/librem5-progress-report-21/

Mouse Underlaying: New keylogger technique http://eudl.eu/doi/10.4108/eai.15-10-2018.155740

How Arm sees its role in emerging segments of tomorrow’s compute challenges https://semiengineering.com/the-building-blocks-of-future-compute/

Deep Diesel: Machine and Deep Learning for Diesel Car Detection https://blog.codecentric.de/en/2018/10/deep-learning-detection-of-diesel-cars/

Reverse Engineering of a Huawei P20 from China https://twitter.com/fs0c131y/status/1051568180748013569

Money Can Buy Happiness [pdf] https://reasonpapers.com/pdf/26/rp_26_1.pdf

Interactive example of how Facebook leaked access tokens https://history.adversary.io/anonymous/facebook/birthday

You Want 20% for Handing Me a Muffin? The Awkward Etiquette of iPad Tipping https://www.wsj.com/articles/you-want-20-for-handing-me-a-muffin-the-awkward-etiquette-of-ipad-tipping-1539790018

Salesforce CEO: tech billionaires ’hoard their money’ and won’t help homeless https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2018/oct/17/salesforce-ceo-marc-benioff-san-francisco-homeless-interview

Former Googlers on how they knew it was time to quit https://www.businessinsider.com/why-leave-google-2018-10

Canada becomes second country to legalise recreational marijuana https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-45806255

Show HN: Ask Them Anything. Like Reddit’s AMA but initiated by followers https://atabbn.com

CVE-2018-10933 libssh authentication bypass in server code https://www.libssh.org/security/advisories/CVE-2018-10933.txt

Show HN: Deep Play-by-Play – labelling NBA plays using a 3D ConvNet https://github.com/neeilan/DeepPlayByPlay

First-Class Automatic Differentiation in Swift: A Manifesto https://gist.github.com/rxwei/30ba75ce092ab3b0dce4bde1fc2c9f1d

Show HN: Beautiful Web Type (new version) – detailed guide to open-source type https://beautifulwebtype.com

Show HN: Plug N Play collection of utility bash scripts https://github.com/aviaryan/utility-bash-scripts

JVM Ecosystem Report 2018 – biggest ever JVM survey https://snyk.io/blog/jvm-ecosystem-report-2018

Massive Twitter data release sheds light on Russia’s Trump strategy – POLITICO https://www.politico.com/story/2018/10/17/twitter-foreign-influence-operations-910005

Facebook lied: its’ in-home “Portal” cameras will collect your data https://boingboing.net/2018/10/17/releasing-on-time.html

MRI disabled every iOS device in facility https://www.reddit.com/comments/9mk2o7

Length of ring and index fingers ’linked to sexuality’ https://www.bbc.com/news/health-45887691