HN:Live JSON revision - 2018-11-18
We got 98 links!

Unscii – a bitmapped Unicode font for blocky graphics http://pelulamu.net/unscii/

GoAWK: an AWK interpreter written in Go https://benhoyt.com/writings/goawk/

Show HN: Founders launching startups on Twitch https://24hrstartup.com/

Virus Explorer – visualize and compare viruses in 3D models https://www.hhmi.org/biointeractive/virus-explorer

Mtime comparison considered harmful https://apenwarr.ca/log/20181113

The Invention of the Aeropress (2014) https://priceonomics.com/the-invention-of-the-aeropress/

On Rigorous Error Handling http://250bpm.com/blog:140

An Oral History of Laurel Canyon, the 60s and 70s Music Mecca (2015) https://www.vanityfair.com/culture/2015/02/laurel-canyon-music-scene

Amazon’s Stealth Brands: Everything on Amazon Is Amazon https://www.nytimes.com/2018/11/15/style/this-is-also-amazon.html

Show HN: Gmail Classic – CSS for Reverting Gmail’s New Look https://github.com/shellscape/gmail-classic

Smarking (YC W15) is hiring back-end engineers in SF https://www.smarking.com/careers

If I were to invent a programming language for the 21st century https://wordsandbuttons.online/if_i_were_to_invent_a_programming_language_for_the_21st_century.html

Bisected: The Unfortunate Reason Linux 4.20 Is Running Slower https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=linux-420-bisect&num=1

ProtonMail: Alleged data breach was a “hoax and failed extortion attempt” https://www.reddit.com/r/ProtonMail/comments/9xovso/dont_believe_everything_you_read_online_about/

A Raft implementation in Haskell https://github.com/adjoint-io/raft

Amazon Web Services in Plain English https://www.expeditedssl.com/aws-in-plain-english

Expresso: A simple expressions language with polymorphic extensible row types https://github.com/willtim/Expresso

Surveillance Kills Freedom by Killing Experimentation https://www.wired.com/story/mcsweeneys-excerpt-the-right-to-experiment/

The Complete Mythbusters–Results from every episode (271 x 14 years) ever aired https://mythresults.com/

The Doctor Who theme and beyond: female pioneers of electronic music https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-018-07439-1

Running Windows Software on ARM Devices with Wine https://gist.github.com/MIvanchev/14de59fa2552d315ac74c30cf1c0b01e

Show HN: RTCTunnel, build network tunnels over WebRTC https://github.com/rtctunnel/rtctunnel

Entire Georgia Town Evacuated Due to Train Derailment http://time.com/5458065/georgia-evacuated-train-derailment/

A 1970s Essay Predicted Silicon Valley’s High-Minded Tyranny https://www.wired.com/story/silicon-valley-tyranny-of-structurelessness/

Nearly 3,000 Votes Disappeared From Florida’s Recount https://www.nytimes.com/2018/11/16/us/voting-machines-florida.html

Bash check if process is running or not on Linux / Unix – nixCraft https://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/bash-check-if-process-is-running-or-notonlinuxunix/

The State of the Octoverse: top programming languages of 2018 https://blog.github.com/2018-11-15-state-of-the-octoverse-top-programming-languages/

Paralleltext: Learn languages by reading http://paralleltext.io/

UBlock-LLC taking code from ad blocker uBlock Origin without proper attribution https://twitter.com/gorhill/status/1063777353678110720

Argentina Submarine: ARA San Juan Found https://www.bbc.com/news/world-latin-america-46245686

Trans-galactic streamers feeding most luminous galaxy in the universe https://phys.org/news/2018-11-trans-galactic-streamers-luminous-galaxy-universe.html

Show HN: Skynet Today, a site for informed and accessible coverage of AI news https://www.skynettoday.com/

Book notes: The Courage to be Disliked https://sivers.org/book/Disliked

Tesla’s ‘Bioweapon Defense Mode’ proving invaluable to owners in CA wildfires https://www.teslarati.com/elon-musk-tesla-model-s-x-bioweapon-defense-mode-ca-wildfires/

The Spectre/Meltdown Performance Impact on Linux 4.20 https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=linux-420-stibp&num=1

Show HN: HRConvert2, Self-hosted file conversion server for over 60+ formats https://github.com/zelon88/HRConvert2

David Hockney’s $90.3m painting obliterates record for work by a living artist http://www.latimes.com/la-et-em-david-hockney-painting-20181116-story.html

’Dungeons and Dragons’ Releases Errata for Core Rulebooks https://comicbook.com/gaming/2018/11/17/dungeons-and-dragons-errata/

Zuckerberg isn’t accountable to anyone so it’s time Congress to take his power https://www.businessinsider.com/congress-should-ban-facebooks-dual-class-stock-structure-2018-11

Playing high school football changes the teenage brain https://medicalxpress.com/news/2018-11-high-school-football-teenage-brain.html

Amazon Web Services makes it harder to leave your cloud storage buckets unlocked https://www.geekwire.com/2018/amazon-web-services-tries-make-even-harder-leave-cloud-storage-buckets-unlocked/

Limited Availability of Spaces API in NYC3 https://status.digitalocean.com/incidents/rc3wwtvms36t

Elon Musk’s Boring Company has completed digging its first tunnel https://www.theverge.com/2018/11/17/18100271/boring-company-finished-la-tunnel-elon-musk

“Hustle Porn” Is Making Us Sad and Suicidal https://www.erica.biz/2018/hustle-porn/

Trump signs bill that creates Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency https://www.zdnet.com/article/trump-signs-bill-that-creates-the-cybersecurity-and-infrastructure-security-agency/

How to Run 8 Side-Projects from a Single Server for 12 EUR/Mo https://yanis.blog/how-to-run-8-side-projects-from-a-single-server-for-12-eur-mo/

Texas students will soon learn slavery played a central role in the Civil War https://www.npr.org/2018/11/16/668557179/texas-students-will-soon-learn-slavery-played-a-central-role-in-the-civil-war

Fluent C++ is 2 Years Old – Fluent C++ https://www.fluentcpp.com/2018/11/16/fluent-cpp-is-2-years-old/

Bill Maher doesn’t understand why people are mourning Stan Lee https://www.real-time-with-bill-maher-blog.com/index/2018/11/16/adulting#commenting

iPad Pro Bend Test – Be Gentle with Apples New iPad https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUBsxCcJeUc

Show HN: A rap song making fun of the *bad* recruiters we all love to hate https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_w9taH8Kkvw

Show HN: Lorca – a tiny library for building cross-platform HTML5 GUI apps in Go https://github.com/zserge/lorca

1 in 4 Biostatisticians Surveyed Say They Were Asked to Commit Scientific Fraud http://infoproc.blogspot.com/2018/11/1-in-4-biostatisticians-surveyed-say.html