HN:Live JSON revision - 2018-12-16
We got 101 links!

Serverless Computing: One Step Forward, Two Steps Back https://arxiv.org/abs/1812.03651

DDR Type 2 Short-wave spy transmitter https://www.cryptomuseum.com/spy/ddr2/index.htm

Show HN: CHIP-8 console implemented in FPGA https://github.com/pwmarcz/fpga-chip8

Let There Be Light, and Thus, Time (2015) [video] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bbBmkooNse4

How McKinsey has helped raise the stature of authoritarian governments https://www.nytimes.com/2018/12/15/world/asia/mckinsey-china-russia.html

An Introduction to Recursion Schemes (2014) https://blog.sumtypeofway.com/an-introduction-to-recursion-schemes/

Why we suck at “solving wicked problems” http://www.morebeyond.co.za/why-we-suck-at-solving-wicked-problems/

PG&E falsified gas pipeline records for years after deadly explosion https://www.latimes.com/business/la-fi-pge-safety-investigation-20181214-story.html

Busy Beavers, and the Quest for Big Numbers (2012) https://jeremykun.com/2012/02/08/busy-beavers-and-the-quest-for-big-numbers/

Today is Esperanto Day – here’s why I learned it https://martinrue.com/zamenhofa-tago-18/

Hubble finds far-away planet vanishing at record speed https://phys.org/news/2018-12-hubble-far-away-planet.html

Algol 68: A Retrospective https://accu.org/index.php/journals/2586

USGS Announces Largest Continuous Oil Assessment in Texas and New Mexico https://www.usgs.gov/news/usgs-announces-largest-continuous-oil-assessment-texas-and-new-mexico

William Blum, US Policy Critic Derided by NYT, Dies at 85 https://fair.org/home/william-blum-us-policy-critic-derided-by-nyt-dies-at-85/

Interview with Evan You of Vue.js [audio] https://www.indiehackers.com/podcast/078-evan-you-of-vue

A look at home routers, and a surprising bug in Linux/MIPS https://cyber-itl.org/2018/12/07/a-look-at-home-routers-and-linux-mips.html

Apple Computers Used to Be Built in the U.S. It Was a Mess https://www.nytimes.com/2018/12/15/business/apple-california-manufacturing-history.html

Storing unboxed trait objects in Rust https://guiand.xyz/blog-posts/unboxed-trait-objects.html

In Praise of APL: A Language for Lyrical Programming (1977) http://www.jsoftware.com/papers/perlis77.htm

Parrot Uses Alexa to Order Watermelon, Lightbulbs While Owner Is Out https://www.newsweek.com/parrot-alexa-amazon-african-grey-england-animals-1260318

The Inherent Instability of Disordered Systems http://necsi.edu/research/multiscale/disorderedsystems

The Muse (YC W12) Is Hiring a Lead DevOps Engineer https://www.themuse.com/jobs/themuse/lead-devops-engineer-a42640

The National Park Service Now Owns the Home Where Martin Luther King Jr Was Born https://www.nytimes.com/2018/12/15/us/mlk-home-national-park-service.html

Baby Gene Edits Could Affect a Range of Traits https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-018-07713-2

Autism and Asperger’s Syndrome: The ‘Little Professors’ (2008) https://h2g2.com/edited_entry/A10450694

None of these faces are real. All made up by AIs https://twitter.com/kevin2kelly/status/1073462307932463105

Show HN: A WebGL EWA Surface Splatting Renderer https://www.willusher.io/webgl-ewa-splatter/#Santa

Crash Chrome 70 with the SQLite Magellan Bug https://worthdoingbadly.com/sqlitebug/

China introduces ‘social’ punishments for scientific misconduct https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-018-07740-z

Pictures from the Eastern Bloc in the 80s http://chrisniedenthal.com/en/works?cat=all

The Restless Clock: In Defense of Lamarck (2016) http://plausiblefutures.com/restless-clock-defense-lamarck/

WebSharper: Full-stack, functional reactive web programming for .NET https://websharper.com

Show HN: Software Stickers Co – Simple Software Funding http://dev.softwarestickers.com

California commission finds PG&E falsified records for years https://www.cnn.com/2018/12/15/us/pge-falsifying-records/index.html

Want to Buy a House? This Is How Many Hours You Need to Work to Afford One http://mentalfloss.com/article/567626/number-of-work-hours-to-afford-mortgage-each-state-map

Soup-Salad-Sandwich Space http://sandwichspace.xyz/

Removing a recursion in Python, part 1 https://ericlippert.com/

Professor who knew Gates at Harvard: He was the smartest person I’ve ever met https://www.businessinsider.com/a-story-about-bill-gatess-intelligence-2015-11

Activision forced Al Lowe to cancel his Leisure Suit Larry source code auctions https://www.pcgamer.com/activision-forced-al-lowe-to-cancel-his-leisure-suit-larry-source-code-auctions/

Einstein’s most effective life hack wasn’t about productivity https://qz.com/work/1494627/einstein-on-the-only-productivity-tip-youll-ever-need-to-know/

Show HN: Pown Proxy – MITM web proxy with text ui https://github.com/pownjs/pown-proxy

USB Killer, yours for $50, lets you easily fry almost every device https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2016/12/usb-killer-fries-devices/

I’m Jonna Mendez, the Former Chief of Disguise for the CIA. Ask Me Anything https://www.reddit.com/r/IAmA/comments/a32j7e/im_jonna_mendez_the_former_chief_of_disguise_for/

AMD 7nm EPYC “Rome” CPUs in Upcoming Finnish Supercomputer, 200,000 Cores Total https://www.techpowerup.com/250650/amd-7nm-epyc-rome-cpus-in-upcoming-finnish-supercomputer-200-000-cores-total

‘The Endless’ Is Masterful Low-Budget Sci-Fi https://www.wired.com/2018/12/geeks-guide-the-endless/

Johnson and Johnson knew for decades that asbestos lurked in its Baby Powder https://www.reuters.com/investigates/special-report/johnsonandjohnson-cancer/

How the CIA Tricked the World’s Best Writers https://www.thenation.com/article/cia-tricked-worlds-best-writers/

To a man with an algorithm all things look like an advertising opportunity https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/dec/15/week-in-patriarchy-facebook-parenting-advertising

Show HN: Wire RSS Reader https://josh.blog/2018/12/wire

Launch HN: Software Buyer Council: Shape the Future of Software https://www.gkogan.co/sbc/

Most Nazis escaped justice. Now Germany is racing to convict those who got away https://edition.cnn.com/2018/12/14/europe/germany-nazi-war-trials-grm-intl/index.html

How the CIA Trains Spies to Hide in Plain Sight https://www.wired.com/story/mastermind-cia-disguise/

Applied Linear Algebra Textbook by Boyd and Vandenberghe http://vmls-book.stanford.edu/

Robinhood will retool checking product following scrutiny https://finance.yahoo.com/news/robinhood-retool-checking-product-following-034523132.html