HN:Live JSON revision - 2019-02-20
We got 146 links!

Could ’Oumuamua be an icy fractal aggregate ejected from a protoplanetary disk? https://www.syfy.com/syfywire/no-oumuamua-is-not-an-alien-spaceship-it-might-be-even-weirder

SIMD Instructions Considered Harmful (2017) https://www.sigarch.org/simd-instructions-considered-harmful/

Microsoft is Abandoning SHA-1 Hashes for Updates https://www.cs.columbia.edu/~smb/blog/2019-02/2019-02-19.html

Google says Nest’s built-in mic not listed in specs was not meant to be secret https://www.businessinsider.com/nest-microphone-was-never-supposed-to-be-a-secret-2019-2

Growing a Compiler: Getting to Machine Learning from a General Purpose Compiler https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1IiBLVU5Pj-48vzEMnuYEr9WQy9u2oi6Yk_8F3sgGkvQ/edit

Autocomplete Using Markov Chains https://yurichev.com/blog/markov/

Show HN: Simple Webapp to Play with Open AI Transformer (Smaller Version) https://lm.sprinkleai.com/

Discovering a New Form of Communication in the Brain https://thedaily.case.edu/discovering-a-new-form-of-communication-in-the-brain/

Battlesnake – Competitive Snake Games over HTTP http://play.battlesnake.io

Reflections on Learning Rust by Building Punchtop https://hyperbo.la/w/reflections-on-learning-rust/

Comcast modem activation bug potentially exposed customers’ private data (2018) https://motherboard.vice.com/en_us/article/mbkgn8/dont-rent-a-modem-from-comcast

41 Years Ago, There Were BBS Instead of the Internet https://www.theregister.co.uk/2019/02/18/41_years_of_the_bbs/

Neuroscientists Say They’ve Found an Entirely New Form of Neural Communication https://www.sciencealert.com/neuroscientists-say-they-ve-found-an-entirely-new-form-of-neural-communication

A 5km Asteroid May Briefly Occult the Brightest Star in the Night Sky https://arstechnica.com/science/2019/02/a-small-asteroid-may-briefly-blot-out-sirius-monday-night/

Sourceress (YC S17) Hiring ML Engineers – No ML Experience Required, Remote OK https://www.sourceress.com/jobs/machine-learning-engineer

Boeing 787 Reaches 801 MPH as a Jet Stream Packs Record-Breaking Speeds https://www.latimes.com/science/la-sci-sn-jet-stream-flight-20190219-story.html

Dear OpenAI: Please Open Source Your Language Model https://thegradient.pub/openai-please-open-source-your-language-model/

Bell Labs Researcher Discusses the Realities of 5G https://theamphour.com/430-shahriar-discusses-5g/

Early South Dakota Thrived by Being a Divorce Colony https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/history-of-divorce

Rose: Compiler Infrastructure for Source-to-Source Program Transformation https://github.com/rose-compiler/rose-develop#readme

Code Shelter: A Maintainer Community for Abandoned FOSS Projects https://www.codeshelter.co/

Show HN: Chrome Extension to See IMDB Ratings Directly on Netflix https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/imdb-ratings-on-netflix/ohonjgnjobblbhfeamidafpnbkppbljh

Kaiser Permanente’s New Med School Will Waive Tuition for Its First 5 Classes https://www.nytimes.com/2019/02/19/health/kaiser-medical-school-free-.html

NoFlo – Flow-Based Programming for JavaScript https://noflojs.org/

Robots Track Moving Objects with Unprecedented Precision http://news.mit.edu/2019/robots-track-moving-objects-unprecedented-precision-0219

Vulnerability in Tesla Website Used to Find Details of 8500 Cars in US Inventory https://twitter.com/JakeLangford6/status/1097688632809455616

As McKinsey Sells Advice, Its Hedge Fund May Have a Stake in the Outcome https://www.nytimes.com/2019/02/19/business/mckinsey-hedge-fund.html

Putsack – Anonymous Paste and Encryption Tool https://putsack.com

WiGLE: Huge WiFi Networks Geolocation Map https://wigle.net/

Ledger’s Advanced Side Channel Analysis Repository https://github.com/Ledger-Donjon/lascar

Holographic Neural Architectures (2018) https://arxiv.org/abs/1806.00931

This Waifu Does Not Exist http://www.thiswaifudoesnotexist.net

Overwatch Randomized Trial on Gender http://danluu.com/overwatch-gender/

The Tethered Uni-Rotor Network: Eternal Flight UAV https://turnuav.com/

Jeff Bezos at YC Startup School 2008 [video] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6nKfFHuouzA

My Underground Warfare Wish List https://mwi.usma.edu/underground-warfare-wish-list/

Orange – Interactive Machine Learning and Data Viz Toolbox https://orange.biolab.si/

Chrome Key: Building a Hardware Authentication Device Emulator https://blog.joaopeixoto.net/chrome-key-an-extension-story/

Astronomers Just Found 300,000 Hidden Galaxies in Just a Tiny Patch of Sky https://www.sciencealert.com/most-sensitive-scan-yet-of-the-sky-reveals-hundreds-of-thousands-of-hidden-galaxies

Guide to Recursion for Coding Interviews https://www.byte-by-byte.com/recursion

Shazam removed all 3rd party SDKs from its iPhone app https://blog.appfigures.com/shazam-for-ios-sheds-3rd-party-sdks/

How Not to Do Time Tracking for Software Developers https://www.7pace.com/blog/developer-time-tracking-fails

How we’ve attracted top talent to our early-stage bootstrapped startup https://canny.io/blog/startup-attract-top-talent/

Grave Concerns Over White House Efforts to Transfer Nuclear Tech to Saudi Arabia https://oversight.house.gov/news/press-releases/multiple-whistleblowers-raise-grave-concerns-with-white-house-efforts-to

Show HN: Stock Screener and Portfolio Management for DIY Equity Investors https://eqzen.com/

Linux Gaming Is on a Life-Support System Called Steam https://www.engadget.com/2019/02/19/linux-gaming-steam-valve-epic-games-store/

Research Suggests YouTube Aids Flat Earth Conspiracy Theorists https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-47279253

Oracle Is Destined to Beat Amazon at Cloud Database: Larry Ellison https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xrzMYL901AQ

Fair Open-Sources New ELF OpenGo Data Set, Research, and Insights https://code.fb.com/ai-research/elf-opengo/

Elon Musk Promises a Truly Self-Driving Tesla in 2020 https://www.wired.com/story/elon-musk-tesla-full-self-driving-2019-2020-promise/

Why you think you’re right, even when you’re wrong (2017) https://ideas.ted.com/why-you-think-youre-right-even-when-youre-wrong/

Industrial Opportunities for Startups https://combientfoundry.com

Who Is in Charge of Fasttext on Pypi? https://github.com/facebookresearch/fastText/issues/436

Show HN: P2P In-Browser Screen Sharing https://myscreen.live

The Effect of Online and Face-to-Face Feedback on Self-Esteem (2018) https://urbanwomanmag.com/the-effect-of-online-face-to-face-feedback-on-self-esteem/

Nearly Half of US Female Scientists Leave Full-Time Science After First Child https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-019-00611-1

Blood of the Young Won’t Spare Rich Old People from Sadness and Death, FDA Says https://arstechnica.com/science/2019/02/blood-of-the-young-wont-spare-rich-old-people-from-sadness-and-death-fda-says/

A Tour of Recurrent Neural Network Algorithms for Deep Learning (2017) https://machinelearningmastery.com/recurrent-neural-network-algorithms-for-deep-learning/

’Drinkable’ Potato Chips: The Products Keeping Your Phone Grease-Free https://www.theguardian.com/food/2019/feb/06/koike-ya-one-hand-chips-greasy-snacks-clean-phone-solutions

Show HN: TensorFlow Serving with OpenFaaS and Kubernetes https://github.com/alexellis/tensorflow-serving-openfaas

This AirBnB Does Not Exist https://thisairbnbdoesnotexist.com/

Webassembly and CloudABI – A Match Made in Heaven https://medium.com/wasmer/webassembly-cloudabi-b573047fd0a9

Over Time, Buddhism and Science Agree (2014) http://nautil.us/issue/9/time/over-time-buddhism-and-science-agree

Audi’s Traffic Light Sensor Lets You Catch All the Greens https://www.theverge.com/2019/2/19/18229947/audi-traffic-light-sensor-green-wave-v2i

TSLint in 2019: TSLint Will Be Officially Deprecated in Favor of ESLint https://medium.com/palantir/tslint-in-2019-1a144c2317a9

PS5: What to Expect from Sony’s Next PlayStation Game Console https://www.theverge.com/2019/2/19/18231205/sony-ps5-playstation-5-rumors-specs-games

Landmark Research Creates “Universal” Stem Cells Using Crispr Gene Editing https://newatlas.com/crispr-stem-cells-universal-immune-system/58527/

Raccoon, the APK Downloader for Google Play, Now Supports App Bundles https://www.xda-developers.com/raccoon-apk-downloader-google-play-app-bundle-support/

Sphero RVR – The Go Anywhere, Do Anything Programmable Robot https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/sphero/sphero-rvr-the-go-anywhere-do-anything-programmabl

Are You a Human at Google? Please Email Us Here: prayforplay https://twitter.com/signalapp/status/1097920269484646401

Average Office Worker Spends Less Than 3 Hours of the Day Working Productively https://www.vouchercloud.com/resources/office-worker-productivity

The Weird Rise of Cyber Funerals https://www.wired.co.uk/article/cyber-funerals

Ubuntu 18.04.2 Refreshes This Long-Term Support Linux Distro https://www.zdnet.com/article/ubuntu-18-04-2-refreshes-this-long-term-support-linux-distro/

Show HN: Joe Schmoe – Illustrated avatars for developers and designers https://joeschmoe.io/?referrer=hn

Splunk Will No Longer Be Selling Services to Organizations in Russia https://www.splunk.com/blog/2019/02/18/shifting-priorities-in-our-global-strategy.html#

Show HN: N1ED – the most advanced JavaScript page builder for developers https://n1ed.com

The Confounding Climate Science of Lab-Grown Meat https://www.wired.com/story/the-confounding-climate-science-of-lab-grown-meat/

You Have Around 20 Minutes to Contain a Russian Apt Attack https://www.zdnet.com/article/you-have-around-20-minutes-to-contain-a-russian-apt-attack/

YouTube Unleashed a Conspiracy Theory Boom. Can It Be Contained? https://www.nytimes.com/2019/02/19/technology/youtube-conspiracy-stars.html

Google Teases a Big Gaming Announcement for March 19th https://www.engadget.com/2019/02/19/google-will-unveil-gaming-project-at-gdc/