HN:Live JSON revision - 2019-02-21
We got 169 links!

Simdjson – Parsing Gigabytes of JSON per Second https://github.com/lemire/simdjson

U.S. Supreme Court Puts Limits on Police Power to Seize Private Property https://www.nytimes.com/2019/02/20/us/politics/civil-asset-forfeiture-supreme-court.html

Falsehoods Programmers Believe About Phone Numbers (2016) https://github.com/googlei18n/libphonenumber/blob/master/FALSEHOODS.md

Cancer death rates are falling, five-year survival rates rising https://ourworldindata.org/cancer-death-rates-are-falling-five-year-survival-rates-are-rising

Introduction to Algotrading (2011) [pdf] http://isomorphisms.sdf.org/maxdama.pdf

ReadMe (YC W15) Is Hiring. Help Us Make APIs Easy to Use http://readme.io/careers

OnionShare 2 adds anonymous dropboxes https://micahflee.com/2019/02/onionshare-2/

Linux Kernel Through 4.20.10 Found Vulnerable to Arbitrary Code Execution https://coocoor.com/advisory/cve/CVE-2019-8912

Sparta: High-Performance Static Code Analyzers Based on Abstract Interpretation https://github.com/facebookincubator/SPARTA#sparta

Show HN: Commento: a fast, privacy-focused alternative to Disqus https://commento.io

FDA warning brings young-blood transfusion company to a halt https://techcrunch.com/2019/02/19/fda-warning-blood-transfusions-ambrosia-medical/

Show HN: XFiles – FOSS File Manager and Archiver with Root Support for Android https://github.com/pgp/XFiles

Pee, Not Chlorine, Causes Red Eyes from Swimming Pools: CDC (2015) https://www.cbc.ca/news/trending/pee-chlorine-red-eyes-swimming-pools-cdc-1.3127865

Dystopia Is What Results from the Attempt to Create Utopia https://kirkcenter.org/essays/would-you-recognize-a-dystopia-if-you-saw-one/

Decentralized Clearing Network: A Protocol for Hybrid Decentralized Exchanges https://merklex.io/blog/decentralized-clearing-network/

Airtable CEO on the continued importance of getting a ‘unicorn’ valuation https://techcrunch.com/2019/02/19/airtable-ceo-howie-liu-on-the-continued-importance-of-getting-a-unicorn-valuation/

Dr. Rhonda Patrick on DHA in Phospholipid Form and the Prevention of Alzheimers https://zenpatient.com/blog/dr-rhonda-patrick-on-the-role-of-the-phospholipid-form-of-dha-in-apoe4-alzheimers/

A Genius for Being Human: Isaiah Berlin https://lareviewofbooks.org/article/a-genius-for-being-human/

What I’ve Learned from Hacker News (2009) http://www.paulgraham.com/hackernews.html

When does the concept of equilibrium work in economics? https://phys.org/news/2019-02-central-ideas-economics.html

A List of Hacker News’s Undocumented Features and Behaviors https://github.com/minimaxir/hacker-news-undocumented/blob/master/README.md

Show HN: We Got Sick of Giving Out ’Ballpark Estimates’ So We Built This https://buildmymvp.com/

Password Managers: Under the Hood of Secrets Management https://www.securityevaluators.com/casestudies/password-manager-hacking/

CVE-2019-8912: Use After Free Vuln in All Linux Kernels Up to 4.20.10 https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2019-8912

QuillBot: Free Paraphrasing Tool https://quillbot.com/app

Matminer: Data Mining for Materials Science https://github.com/hackingmaterials/matminer

Sourcegraph 3.1 Released – Easier Code Search, Better Code Intel https://about.sourcegraph.com/blog/sourcegraph-3.1

Y Combinator Resources for Developers https://yc.dev

Show HN: Saltshaker-Crypto, NPM to Sign, Verify, Encrypt and Decrypt with Nacl https://www.npmjs.com/package/saltshaker-crypto

The Salish Woolly Dog’s Hair Was Used to Weave Clothing and Blankets https://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/salish-woolly-dog

Show HN: Tech Productivity – A Newsletter for Techs Who Want to Get Stuff Done https://techproductivity.co/

California Law to Protect Immigrant Home Cooks May Help Tech Giants Instead https://www.latimes.com/local/lanow/la-me-ab626-immigrants-reality-20190218-htmlstory.html

All You Need to Know About Elastic Search but Were Afraid to Ask https://www.kablamo.com.au/blog/2019/2/20/elastic-search-explained

Linux Gaming Is on a Life-Support System Called Steam https://www.engadget.com/2019/02/19/linux-gaming-steam-valve-epic-games-store/

Want a Glimpse of Facebook’s Soul in 2019? Look at Its Internal Propaganda Lab https://www.fastcompany.com/90308216/want-a-glimpse-of-facebooks-soul-in-2019-look-at-its-internal-propaganda-lab

An Update about Redis Developments in 2019 http://antirez.com/news/126

When Will Climate Change Make the Earth Too Hot for Humans? http://nymag.com/intelligencer/2017/07/climate-change-earth-too-hot-for-humans.html

Toxic Workers Are More Productive, But the Price Is High https://www.tlnt.com/toxic-workers-are-more-productive-but-the-price-is-high/

Show HN: GitNews Web – Trending Repositories from GitHub, HackerNews and Reddit https://git.news

China Will Likely Corner the 5G Market–and the US Has No Plan https://www.wired.com/story/china-will-likely-corner-5g-market-us-no-plan/

Emoji Number Plates Launched in Queensland https://www.bbc.com/news/world-australia-47301316

Undefined medium – A free and open-source monospace typeface https://github.com/andirueckel/undefined-medium

China’s Uses Social Credit System to Ban Millions from Taking Flights, Trains https://www.scmp.com/economy/china-economy/article/2186606/chinas-social-credit-system-shows-its-teeth-banning-millions

Using Artificial Intelligence to Engineer Materials’ Properties http://news.mit.edu/2019/artificial-intelligence-engineer-microchips-0211

Amazon Federal Taxes: How the Company’s Corporate Tax Bill Was $0 https://www.vox.com/2019/2/20/18231742/amazon-federal-taxes-zero-corporate-income

This Cat Does Not Exist https://thiscatdoesnotexist.com/

Why the Last Words of Anne Boleyn Remain a Mystery (2016) https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/why-the-last-words-of-anne-boleyn-remain-a-mystery

Accused College Students Deserve the Presumption of Innocence https://www.theatlantic.com/ideas/archive/2019/02/title-ix-ags/582673/

Show HN: GitHub Code Review with Emacs https://blog.laurentcharignon.com/post/code-review-in-emacs/

Show HN: A Hands-On Guide on PySpark Coding and Best Practices https://github.com/ericxiao251/spark-syntax

PeerTube. What It Is, and What I Think It’s Problems Are https://mrfunkedude.com/2019/02/18/peertube/

What Is the Dark Spot Visible Below the Cockpit on A-10s? False Cockpit https://aviation.stackexchange.com/questions/2078/what-is-the-dark-spot-visible-below-the-cockpit-on-a-10s

Transfusion:Understanding Transfer Learning with Applications to Medical Imaging https://arxiv.org/abs/1902.07208

Which Face Is Real? http://www.whichfaceisreal.com/

Patent Exhaustion Could Have Surprising Beneficial Effects for Free Software https://lwn.net/SubscriberLink/780078/829286142bb43857/

Fighting Cybercrime – What Happens to the Law When the Law Cannot Be Enforced? https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2019/02/fighting-cybercrime-what-happens-to-the-law-when-the-law-cannot-be-enforced/

Information Hazards: A Typology of Potential Harms from Knowledge [pdf] https://nickbostrom.com/information-hazards.pdf

Twitter’s Jack Dorsey Praises Lightning Network-Enabled Tipping Solution https://mybitcoinnews.co/bitcoin-news/twitters-jack-dorsey-praises-lightning-network-enabled-tipping-solution/

Pinterest Blocks Vaccination Searches in Move to Control the Conversation https://www.wsj.com/articles/next-front-in-tech-firms-war-on-misinformation-bad-medical-advice-11550658601

Password Managers: Under the Hood of Secrets Management https://www.securityevaluators.com/casestudies/password-manager-hacking/

Pinterest Cracks Down on Anti-Vaxxers, Prompting Facebook to Follow https://www.cnbc.com/2019/02/20/pinterest-cracks-down-on-anti-vaccination-ads.html

Today we had someone fake their entire interview via Skype - Story (r/devops) https://www.reddit.com/r/devops/comments/askyfu/today_we_had_someone_fake_their_entire_interview/

Unearthed Emails Could Be Smoking Gun in Epic GDPR Battle Against Google, Adtech https://www.theregister.co.uk/2019/02/20/iab_rtb_complain_fresh_evidence/

Feds Share Watchlist with 1,400 Private Groups https://apnews.com/ae4779a057c04947a332fce64f6cf345

California Considering Lanes with No Speed Limit https://www.motortrend.com/news/calinornia-unlimited-highway-lanes/

‘Sustained and Ongoing’ Disinformation Assault Targets Dem Presidential Can https://www.politico.com/story/2019/02/20/2020-candidates-social-media-attack-1176018

Show HN: ML Model That Predicts Your Mindset Based on Your LinkedIn Profile https://www.bunch.ai/blog/meet-emma-ai/

Microsoft Edge Lets Facebook Run Flash Code Behind Users’ Backs https://www.zdnet.com/article/microsoft-edge-lets-facebook-run-flash-code-behind-users-backs/

Nike’s Smart Sneakers Are Breaking When Used with an Android Phone https://www.theverge.com/circuitbreaker/2019/2/20/18233157/nike-adapt-bb-android-app-update-software-break

Learn Enough Git to Be Useful – 4 Essential Workflows for GitHub Projects https://towardsdatascience.com/learn-enough-git-to-be-useful-281561eef959

Nestle and Others Have Suspended YouTube Ads Over News of a Pedophile Network https://www.cnbc.com/2019/02/20/disney-pulls-youtube-ads-over-pedophile-network-report.html

How to Build a Customer Service Chat App with React https://pusher.com/tutorials/customer-service-chat-react

Save Alice: Tell the Patent Office to Apply Supreme Court Law https://act.eff.org/action/save-alice-tell-the-patent-office-to-apply-supreme-court-law

Deploy InfluxDB and Grafana on Kubernetes to Collect Twitter Stats https://opensource.com/article/19/2/deploy-influxdb-grafana-kubernetes

Teen Builds Working Nuclear Fusion Reactor in Memphis Home https://www.foxnews.com/science/teen-builds-working-nuclear-fusion-reactor-in-memphis-home

Free Education Platform to Help Increase Test Automation Success Rates https://testautomationu.applitools.com/

Popular Python Package SQLAlchemy Found Vulnerable to SQL Injection Attacks https://coocoor.com/advisory/cve/CVE-2019-7164

Show HN: Patching.io, Follow GitHub Developers and Repos to See What’s Going On https://patching.io

What Developers Can Learn from Company Rebranding Announcements https://spin.atomicobject.com/2019/02/17/dev-company-rebranding/#.XG1cKul0QhU.hackernews

Best Startups to Work for in Stockholm https://www.seedtable.com/startups-stockholm

On YouTube, a Network of Paedophiles Is Hiding in Plain Sight https://www.wired.co.uk/article/youtube-pedophile-videos-advertising

I Rode Africa’s First Superfast Train and I Understand Why It’s Controversial https://www.businessinsider.com/bullet-train-africa-morocco-casablanca-tangier-2019-1

Shadow Blade. How We Hired a Team of 8 Excellents Web Developers in 9 Month https://medium.com/@setni/how-we-hired-a-team-of-8-excellents-web-developers-in-9-month-be871529216c

VS Code – The Language Server Index Format (LSIF) https://code.visualstudio.com/blogs/2019/02/19/lsif

The Tragedy of Systemd [video] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o_AIw9bGogo