HN:Live JSON revision - 2019-02-22
We got 142 links!

France Enters the Matrix https://lwn.net/Articles/779331/

Practical Go: Real-world advice for writing maintainable Go programs https://dave.cheney.net/practical-go/presentations/qcon-china.html

Play.js: The Node.js and React Native IDE for iPhone and iPad https://playdotjs.com/

Segment Is Now Free for Early-Stage Startups https://segment.com/startups/

Computer Modeling Should Become a Popular Hobby http://www.qrg.northwestern.edu/papers/files/simhobby-local.htm

Notes from Malcolm Gladwell’s Writing Masterclass https://taimur.me/posts/notes-from-malcolm-gladwell-s-writing-masterclass-part-1

Build and Deploy Serverless React Apps with Next.js 8 and Zeit Now https://blog.hasura.io/build-and-deploy-serverless-apps-with-nextjs-8-zeit-now/

Nginx Is Giving Away a Free O’Reilly Book on Cloud Native Devops with Kubernetes https://www.nginx.com/resources/library/cloud-native-devops-with-kubernetes/

Serializability vs. Strict Serializability: The Dirty Secret of Isolation Levels https://fauna.com/blog/serializability-vs-strict-serializability-the-dirty-secret-of-database-isolation-levels

Macrostrat: A Global Geological Map https://macrostrat.org

Facebook Will Shut Down Its Spyware VPN App Onavo https://techcrunch.com/2019/02/21/facebook-removes-onavo/

We’re Entering a Golden Age of Podcasts https://chartable.com/blog/golden-age-of-podcasts

COI – Chat Over IMAP https://www.coi-dev.org/

Deep Learning on the GPU in Clojure from Scratch: Sharing Memory https://dragan.rocks/articles/19/Deep-Learning-in-Clojure-From-Scratch-to-GPU-5-Sharing-Memory

A Fairly Fast Fibonacci Function http://www.oranlooney.com/post/fibonacci/

Librem 5 Smartphone: Massive Progress, Exact CPU Selected, Shipping Adjustment https://puri.sm/posts/massive-progress-exact-cpu-selected-minor-shipping-adjustment/

Zendar (YC S17) Is Hiring Computer Vision Engineer in Berkeley http://www.zendar.io/software-engineer-perception.html

Structuring Legal Documents with Deep Learning https://blog.doctrine.fr/structuring-legal-documents-with-deep-learning/

Travis CI Is Laying Off Senior Engineer Staff https://twitter.com/alicegoldfuss/status/1098604563664420865

PostgreSQL’s Explain Analyze Made Readable http://explain.depesz.com

Show HN: Icotar – Generate Free Colorful Icon Avatars https://icotar.com

Teaching People to Trade Stocks Is Like Starting Them on Heroin – Munger https://www.evidenceinvestor.com/teaching-people-to-trade-stocks-is-like-starting-them-on-heroin-munger/

Yelp Fired Manager After He Didn’t Take Calls, Check Email 24/7, Lawsuit Claims https://www.mercurynews.com/2019/02/20/yelp-fired-manager-after-he-didnt-take-calls-check-email-24-7-365-lawsuit-claims/

Crazy Circuits: An Open Source Electronics Learning System https://www.instructables.com/id/Crazy-Circuits-an-Open-Source-Electronics-Learning/

Show HN: ICONSVG – Customize and Generate Common SVG Icons https://iconsvg.xyz/

Ramses – A distributed system for rendering 3D content https://github.com/GENIVI/ramses

An Open Letter to the FB Recruiter Who Gets Ordered, Every Quarter, to Email Me https://medium.com/@mjw_50072/an-open-letter-to-the-fb-recruiter-who-gets-ordered-every-quarter-to-email-me-dc761c9ddb42

How An Investigation of Fake FCC Comments Snared a Prominent D.C. Media Firm https://gizmodo.com/how-an-investigation-of-fake-fcc-comments-snared-a-prom-1832788658

Habits of Successful People: Start Before You Feel Ready https://jamesclear.com/successful-people-start-before-they-feel-ready

America’s Professional Elite: Wealthy, Successful and Miserable https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2019/02/21/magazine/elite-professionals-jobs-happiness.html

PlotNeuralNet: Latex Code for Drawing Neural Networks https://github.com/HarisIqbal88/PlotNeuralNet

Intel Expecting Apple to Transition to Custom ARM-Based Chips Starting in 2020 https://www.macrumors.com/2019/02/21/apple-custom-arm-based-chips-2020/

Stop Saying, ‘We Take Your Privacy and Security Seriously’ https://techcrunch.com/2019/02/17/we-take-your-privacy-and-security-seriously/

From Sudoku Solver to Program Synthesis https://synthetic-minds.com/try

Lessons Learned for Project Managers https://llis.nasa.gov/lesson/1956

Delta Chat https://delta.chat/

Tesla Customers Describe Maddening Problems with Returns and Refunds https://www.cnbc.com/2019/02/21/tesla-refund-and-return-problems-detailed.html

Principles of Good Experience Design https://johannesippen.com/2019/deluxe-experiences/

An Analysis of All 1.3M Public Jupyter Notebooks on GitHub https://github.com/activityhistory/jupyter_on_github

It Looks Like Ibera Is Gutting Travis CI Just a Few Weeks After Acquiring It https://www.reddit.com/r/devops/comments/at3oyq/it_looks_like_ibera_is_gutting_travis_ci_just_a/

Apple Falls from First to 17th Spot in ’World’s Most Innovative Company’ Ranking https://www.macrumors.com/2019/02/21/apple-17th-worlds-most-innovative-company-ranks/

Show HN: Facerank — A/B test your Tinder pics. What do you think? https://facerank.app

Nintendo of America’s Reggie Fils-Aime to Retire https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20190221005804/en/

MySigMail – UI Email Signature Generator https://github.com/antonreshetov/mysigmail

Pinterest Has Reportedly Filed for an IPO https://www.businessinsider.com/pinterest-ipo-2019-2

Apple’s Move to ARM-Based Macs Creates Uncertainty – Axios https://www.axios.com/apple-macbook-arm-chips-ea93c38a-d40a-4873-8de9-7727999c588c.html

Facebook Decided Which Users Are Interested in Nazis – and Let Ads Target Them https://www.latimes.com/business/technology/la-fi-tn-facebook-nazi-metal-ads-20190221-story.html

The Power of Product Scoring Mechanisms – Product School https://medium.com/productschool/the-power-of-product-scoring-mechanisms-7bedb05101b9

Japanese Spacecraft to Attempt Landing on Distant Asteroid https://phys.org/news/2019-02-japanese-spacecraft-distant-asteroid.html

A Curated List of Falsehoods Programmers Believe In https://github.com/kdeldycke/awesome-falsehood/blob/master/README.md

Extracting a 19 Year Old Code Execution from WinRAR https://research.checkpoint.com/extracting-code-execution-from-winrar/

If You Fold a Paper in Half 103 Times It’ll Get as Thick as the Universe https://gizmodo.com/if-you-fold-a-paper-in-half-103-times-it-will-be-as-thi-1607632639

Amino: Live CSS Editor for Chrome https://aminoeditor.com/

Programming Notes for Professionals Books https://downloads.goalkicker.com/

Use Swagger to Generate API Interface https://github.com/ShanaMaid/sw2ts

A Categorized List of All Java and JVM Features Since JDK 8 https://advancedweb.hu/2019/02/19/post_java_8/

Tiles: Report on Programmatic Code Generation http://250bpm.com/blog:147

Learn Istio Service Mesh https://learnistio.com

Tesla’s Model 3 Loses Coveted Consumer Reports Recommendation https://arstechnica.com/cars/2019/02/teslas-model-3-loses-coveted-consumer-reports-recommendation/

It Looks Like Idera Is Gutting Travis CI Just a Few Weeks After Acquiring It https://twitter.com/carmatrocity/status/1098538649908666368

Real-Time Chat Solutions vs. Chat Platforms https://habr.com/ru/post/441138/

The Most Reputable Stack Overflow User https://stackoverflow.com/users/22656/jon-skeet

China’s Social Credit System:Millions Banned from Taking Flights, Trains in 2018 https://www.scmp.com/economy/china-economy/article/2186606/chinas-social-credit-system-shows-its-teeth-banning-millions

Five Best Practice Steps to Enterprise DevOps at Scale https://blog.flux7.com/five-best-practice-steps-to-enterprise-devops-at-scale

KubeDB 0.10.0 Brings Redis Clustering Support https://github.com/kubedb/cli/releases/tag/0.10.0

Flexport Hits $3.2B Valuation After $1B Investment Led by SoftBank https://www.forbes.com/sites/alexkonrad/2019/02/21/flexport-raises-1-billion-softbank/#c80cc2d56507

BMW Volleys Open-Source “Ramses” Distributed 3D Rendering System https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=BMW-Open-Source-RAMSES

Jupyter Notebooks – Cool Tricks- Timing Cells, Making Slides and Many More https://medium.com/@lalitvyas1994/jupyter-notebooks-cool-tricks-timing-cells-making-slides-and-many-more-8bf629975c6b

Drupal Core – Highly Critical – Remote Code Execution https://www.drupal.org/node/3034490

Let’s Play: Ancient Greek Punishment: UI Edition (Myths Retold as Dialog Boxes) https://pippinbarr.github.io/lets-play-ancient-greek-punishment-ui-edition/

Ukrainian Software Development Industry: Year in Review, Prospects for 2019 https://www.n-ix.com/ukrainian-software-development-industry-year-review-prospects-2019/

Nike Just Bricked Its Self-Lacing Shoes by Accident https://mashable.com/article/nike-app-connected-shoe-bricked/

Show HN: Leon – Open-Source Personal Assistant https://getleon.ai/

Waymo Car Responds to Human Direction at Broken Traffic Light https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OopTOjnD3qY

Opensource business intelligence and reporting solution https://github.com/yogeshsd/query2report

Public Records Reveal Shell-Company Secrecy That Google Uses https://boingboing.net/2019/02/18/llcs-inside-llcs.html

Facebook Has Behaved Like ’Digital Gangsters,’ U.K. Parliament Report Says https://www.npr.org/2019/02/18/695729829/facebook-has-been-behaving-like-digital-gangsters-u-k-parliament-report-says