HN:Live JSON revision - 2019-02-24
We got 105 links!

Chevy Volt discontinued: Chevrolet’s last Volt rolls off the assembly line https://www.cbsnews.com/news/chevy-volt-discontinued-chevrolets-last-volt-rolls-off-the-assembly-line/

HyperCard Adventures http://hypercardadventures.com

Linking plasma formation in grapes to microwave resonances of aqueous dimers https://www.pnas.org/content/early/2019/02/13/1818350116

Prominent D.C. media firm implicated in fake FCC comments https://gizmodo.com/how-an-investigation-of-fake-fcc-comments-snared-a-prom-1832788658

Twitter Thread Compiler Apps and Copyright Ethics http://www.erynnbrook.com/when-twitter-threads-fly-away/

Show HN: Road Trips in Australia https://beta3.ingeenee.com

Key Values – Find Engineering Teams That Share Your Values https://www.keyvalues.com/

The Real Best Picture: A Look at the Data https://enthusiasmcurbed.github.io/best-picture/

History of the Talos Missile https://www.okieboat.com/Talos%20history.html

Cleave.js – Format input text content when you are typing https://nosir.github.io/cleave.js/

Reinforcement Learning and Optimal Control http://web.mit.edu/dimitrib/www/RLbook.html

A Database for the Edge of the Network (2015) [video] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gpxnbly9bz4&t

A Galaxy-Scale Addressing Scheme for Compute Availability https://vadosware.io/post/a-galaxy-scale-addressing-scheme-for-compute-availability

Magnet link generator https://magnetlinkgenerator.com/

Halley: Lightweight Game Engine Written in C++14 https://github.com/amzeratul/halley

Buefy: UI Components for Vue.js Based on Bulma https://buefy.org/

Why Language-Oriented Programming? Why Racket? https://beautifulracket.com/appendix/why-lop-why-racket.html

Correlation Is Not Causation. How Often? https://www.gwern.net/Causality

Drupalgeddon: Code Injection, Code Reuse, Langsec https://rain-1.github.io/drupalgeddon

AWS API Performance Comparison: Serverless vs. Containers https://www.alexdebrie.com/posts/aws-api-performance-comparison/

The SDK “Power Mac G5” for the Xbox 360 https://www.journaldulapin.com/2019/01/21/power-mac-g5-sdk/

Open Letter from New York State Budget Director Robert Mujica Regarding Amazon https://www.governor.ny.gov/news/open-letter-new-york-state-budget-director-robert-mujica-regarding-amazon

Near-Eye Wavefront Emulating Display https://www.lens.org/lens/patent/075-319-127-149-044

Building a Time Capsule – Guidelines for Preserving Materials [pdf] http://www.mnhs.org/preserve/conservation/reports/timecapsule.pdf

Navy files for patent on room-temperature superconductor https://phys.org/news/2019-02-navy-patent-room-temperature-superconductor.html

Toxic ‘Forever Chemicals’ in Drinking Water Leave Military Families Reeling https://www.nytimes.com/2019/02/22/us/military-water-toxic-chemicals.html

New OpenGL Driver for Intel Gen8 GPUs Merged into Mesa https://lists.freedesktop.org/archives/mesa-dev/2019-February/215576.html

Does Carnitine from Red Meat Cause Heart Disease? http://www.diagnosisdiet.com/red-meat-and-heart-disease/

What Free Software Is So Good You Can’t Believe It’s Free? (Reddit) https://www.reddit.com/r/AskReddit/comments/atxdcb/what_free_software_is_so_good_you_cant_believe/

Dynamics at the Boundary of Game Theory and Distributed Computing (2017) https://arxiv.org/abs/1509.02955

Show HN: Explore Random Web Servers https://randomsite.lhackworth.com

The Rise and Fall of a Multimillion-Dollar Airbnb Scheme https://www.nytimes.com/2019/02/23/nyregion/airbnb-nyc-law.html

Best of Arxiv.org for AI, Machine Learning, and Deep Learning – January 2019 https://insidebigdata.com/2019/02/20/best-of-arxiv-org-for-ai-machine-learning-and-deep-learning-january-2019/

Full Python 3 Grammar Specification https://docs.python.org/3/reference/grammar.html

Berkshire Hathaway 2018 Annual Shareholder Letter [pdf] http://berkshirehathaway.com/letters/2018ltr.pdf

Microsoft Workers Protest Army Contract with Tech ’Designed to Help People Kill’ https://www.npr.org/2019/02/22/697110641/microsoft-workers-protest-army-contract-with-tech-designed-to-help-people-kill

Jerry (YC S17) Is Hiring Senior Software Developers (Remote) https://www.workable.com/j/0B4F2938C1

Caret Package – A Practical Guide to Machine Learning in R https://www.machinelearningplus.com/machine-learning/caret-package/

Privacy Advocate Held at Gunpoint After License Plate Reader Database Mistake https://www.theverge.com/2019/2/21/18234785/privacy-advocate-lawsuit-california-license-plate-reader

Nassim Nicholas Taleb’s Favorite Literature Books (2018) https://www.nuggetsofthought.com/2018/08/22/taleb-literature-books

Stephen Colbert Connects Chance the Rapper with “Lord of the Rings” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kmr_CtN1K3g

The Reasons I Move My Site from WordPress to Netlify https://kevinhq.com/why-i-move-from-wordpress-to-netlify.html

Bezos Just Gave a Private Talk in New York. From Utopian Space Colonies To https://www.businessinsider.com/jeff-bezos-blue-origin-wings-club-presentation-transcript-2019-2

Pcpp:A C99 Preprocessor Written in Pure Python https://github.com/ned14/pcpp/

Book Summary: Blitzscaling, by Reid Hoffman https://www.allencheng.com/blitzscaling-reid-hoffman-pdf-summary/

Microsoft Staff: Do Not Use HoloLens for War https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology

Ubuntu 18.04 Has a Surprise for You If You Use Java http://paperstack.com/post/2019/02/22/long-term-surprise/

The Twelve-Factor App Is a Methodology for Building Software-as-a-Service Apps https://12factor.net

Nike’s Self-Lacing Sneakers Turn into Bricks After Faulty Firmware Update https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2019/02/my-left-shoe-wont-even-reboot-faulty-app-bricks-nike-smart-sneakers/

Show HN: Devlids – Gallery of Stickered Laptops https://devlids.com

Show HN: Learn Istio Service Mesh https://learnistio.com

Python: Even a Feature That You Do Not Use Can Bite You https://blog.petrzemek.net/2019/02/22/even-feature-that-you-do-not-use-can-bite-you/

The Conversation about Diversity in Tech Is Getting Hijacked by Bad Research https://www.vox.com/2019/2/20/18232762/gender-diversity-tech-bad-research-recruiting-new-york-times

Bill Maher Tells Amazon’s Jeff Bezos to “Take One for the Team” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s0oeeXjyHiw

Mushrooms as Medicine? Psychedelics May Be Next Breakthrough Treatment https://www.healthline.com/health-news/benefits-of-medical-mushrooms#The-state-of-psilocybin-research-

Show HN: Make Google Fonts Render 1-3 Seconds Faster in Slow Networks https://googlefonts.3perf.com/

Google: Software is never going to be able to fix Spectre-type bugs https://arstechnica.com/?p=1462619

Microsoft Staff: Do Not Use HoloLens for War https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-47339774