HN:Live JSON revision - 2019-03-24
We got 97 links!

Dell Autism Hiring Program https://jobs.dell.com/neurodiversity

Essential Image Optimization https://images.guide/

Show HN: A social platform to record and debate predictions of the future https://www.predibly.com/

How we manage plans and features in our SaaS app https://blog.checklyhq.com/how-we-manage-plans-features-in-our-saas-app/

Replete 2.0: ClojureScript REPL for iOS and Android http://replete-repl.org/

Marvin Pipkin, inventor of the frosted light bulb https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marvin_Pipkin

Sonic: Fast, lightweight and schemaless search back end in Rust https://github.com/valeriansaliou/sonic

Dadamachines Doppler: FPGA open music hardware https://cdm.link/2019/03/dadamachines-doppler-fpga-open-music-hardware/

Machine Learning: Full-Text Search in JavaScript – Relevance Scoring (2015) http://burakkanber.com/blog/machine-learning-full-text-search-in-javascript-relevance-scoring/

Hyphenation in CSS http://clagnut.com/blog/2395

For Sale: A Massive, Obsessive and Probably Obsolete VHS Boxing Archive https://www.nytimes.com/2019/03/22/nyregion/boxing-vhs-archive.html

Rogue Airbnb listings still exist where short-term rentals aren’t allowed https://www.cbc.ca/news/business/marketplace-airbnb-covert-listings-banned-units-1.5066673

RReduX: The Fabled GMachine http://rredux.com/the-fabled-gmachine.html

Rethinking Streets for Bikes http://rethinkingstreets.com/

A 20-Year Community Roadmap for Artificial Intelligence Research in the US [pdf] https://cra.org/ccc/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/2019/03/AI_Roadmap_Exec_Summary-FINAL-.pdf

Pyright: Static type checker for Python https://github.com/Microsoft/pyright

Why Haven’t Voters Been Buying the Case for Increasing Housing Supply? https://shelterforce.org/2019/02/19/why-voters-havent-been-buying-the-case-for-building/

Stages, Structures, and the Work of Being Yourself https://thefrailestthing.com/2019/03/14/carnival-of-the-self/

Show HN: How to Find a Job as a Software Developer in Switzerland – Guide https://swissdevjobs.ch/blog/how-to-find-job-as-software-developer-in-switzerland-complete-guide

Google Home like WiFi remote configuration for an headless Android device https://github.com/wideverse/headless-wifi-manager

Calculating the mean of a list of numbers (2016) https://hypothesis.works/articles/calculating-the-mean/

Boeing Was ‘Go, Go, Go’ to Beat Airbus with the 737 Max https://www.nytimes.com/2019/03/23/business/boeing-737-max-crash.html

Qri: A global dataset version control system built on the distributed web https://github.com/qri-io/qri

Designed in China, Assembled in California https://ia.net/topics/designed-in-china-assembled-in-california

Medicare for All Would Abolish Private Insurance. ‘There’s No Precedent’ https://www.nytimes.com/2019/03/23/health/private-health-insurance-medicare-for-all-bernie-sanders.html

Metformin for cancer prevention, longevity: popular in Silicon Valley https://www.cnbc.com/2019/03/23/metformin-for-cancer-prevention-longevity-popular-in-silicon-valley.html

For Love, War, and Tribute: Featherwork in the Early Americas https://blogs.loc.gov/maps/2019/03/featherwork-in-the-early-americas/

Why the default WSL terminal is so fast and other commentary about low-level API https://github.com/Microsoft/console/issues/327

Big Pharma’s Go-To Defense of Soaring Drug Prices Doesn’t Add Up https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2019/03/drug-prices-high-cost-research-and-development/585253/

Vikings unwittingly made their swords stronger https://bigthink.com/culture-religion/norse-rituals

Show HN: Automatic GatsbyJS App Landing Page https://github.com/ImedAdel/automatic-gatsbyjs-app-landing-page

Homeless, living in a tent and employed: The changing face of homelessness https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/local/wp/2019/03/22/feature/this-is-not-me/

Jerry (YC S17) Is Hiring Senior Software Developers (Toronto/Markham or Remote) https://www.workable.com/j/089F60DE31

Fish oil supplements linked to prostate cancer (2013) https://www.nhs.uk/news/cancer/fish-oil-supplements-linked-to-prostate-cancer/

How to Improve 2015 MacBook Pro Performance and Thermals https://bsid.io/posts/2019/03/how-to-improve-macbook-pro-performance-and-thermals/

Italy Joins China’s New Silk Road Project https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-47679760

Show HN: Cache-Control Header Builder https://cache-control.sdgluck.now.sh

Show HN: Fast, unopinionated, minimalist web framework for Arduino https://awot.net

AirPods Are Disposable and Hard to Recycle (2016) https://ifixit.org/blog/8690/airpods-are-disposable/

How does Nokia or OnePlus ’mistakenly’ collect user data and ship it to China? https://www.androidcentral.com/how-does-company-nokia-or-oneplus-mistakenly-collect-user-data-and-ship-it-server-china

Anthropic Capitalism and the New Gimmick Economy https://www.edge.org/response-detail/26756

Reddit.NET – A .NET Standard managed library for easy use of the Reddit API (C#) https://github.com/sirkris/Reddit.NET

Huawei CFO was carrying an iPhone, iPad, and MacBook Air when she was arrested https://mashable.com/article/huawei-cfo-uses-iphone-ipad-macbook-air-arrest/

Russiagate is a death-blow for the reputation of the American news media https://taibbi.substack.com/p/russiagate-is-wmd-times-a-million

Performance hit of C to LLVM to IL to LLVM to native: zero performance loss https://twitter.com/migueldeicaza/status/1109173266483036160

A Fast, Minimal Memory, Consistent Hash Algorithm (2014) https://arxiv.org/abs/1406.2294

Jessica Livingston: How Not to Fail (2016) https://blog.ycombinator.com/how-not-to-fail/

Spotify can’t afford the 30% “Apple Tax”, and and Apple knows that https://youtu.be/l8SShgWqJvg

Limiting a process memory usage on Debian https://delthas.fr/linux/limiting-process/

Introduction to Clojure (2013) https://vimeo.com/68375202

Simple linear regression in four lines of code: the complete beginner’s guide https://towardsdatascience.com/simple-linear-regression-in-four-lines-of-code-d690fe4dba84

Homosexuality in giraffes and other non-human animals https://www.queerty.com/excerpt-giraffes-mostly-homosexual-20190323

Iodide lets you do data science entirely in the browser https://alpha.iodide.io/

OpenAI’s GPT2 Model as Slack Integration https://github.com/EdwardHuCS/slack-gpt2

Can a Sole Founder Build a Profitable Startup? – The Startup – Medium https://medium.com/swlh/can-a-sole-founder-build-a-profitable-startup-1326c7a62f07

‘A Swiss cheese-like material’ that can solve equations https://penntoday.upenn.edu/news/penn-engineers-demonstrate-metamaterials-can-solve-equations

Has Your Boss Ever Pooped in Your Lunchbox? (2016) http://loweringthebar.net/2016/03/has-your-boss-ever.html

Fedora 31 Preparing to Start Removing Packages Depending Upon Python 2 https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=Fedora-31-Working-To-Kill-Py2

FCC to Cough Up $43000 Settlement for Refusing to Turn over Fake Comment Records https://gizmodo.com/fcc-to-cough-up-43-000-settlement-for-refusing-to-turn-1833477114

Show HN: Demo-CLI – create web-based canned demos of CLI tools https://demo-cli.dev/

The U.S. Military Is Mounting a Giant Laser Cannon on a Destroyer https://futurism.com/the-byte/us-military-giant-laser-cannon

Earth is (always has been) round, so why have the flat-out wrong become so https://arstechnica.com/?p=1467377

Woman dies after 11-hour wait to see a doctor in New Brunswick emergency room https://globalnews.ca/news/5082756/woman-dies-new-brunswick-emergency-room/

Boötes Void: Massive Empty Space Void https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bo%C3%B6tes_void

Mueller revealed his Trump-Russia story in plain view https://apnews.com/3c4bc6e9aa6c4fb18bc9603fb082af65