HN:Live JSON revision - 2019-03-26
We got 167 links!

Fuchsia OS Introduction https://bzdww.com/article/163937/

Google removed my ads-free app for “deceptive ads” http://www.purpleleafsoftware.com/2019/03/google-removed-mommy-saver-plus-for.html

We improved Tensorflow Serving performance by over 70% https://mux.com/blog/tuning-performance-of-tensorflow-serving-pipeline/

Interviews with developers who became managers https://devtomanager.com/

UK Releases 130 Terabytes of Oil and Gas Data https://www.spe.org/en/jpt/jpt-article-detail/?art=5282

Handsontable drops open source for a non-commercial license https://github.com/handsontable/handsontable/issues/5831

Send Reality (YC S18) is hiring – help create a virtual 3D replica of the world https://sendreality.com/jobs/

Convert Markdown to PDF only using browser https://md2pdf.netlify.com/

Kroki – Convert plain text diagrams to images https://kroki.io/

Morgan Freeman Converts His 124-Acre Ranch into a Giant Bee Sanctuary https://life.gomcgill.com/morgan-freeman-converted-giant-ranch-bee-sanctuary-protection

10 PRINT CHR$(205.5+RND(1)); : GOTO 10 (2012) http://10print.org/

The self-made man: on the long and eventful life of Frederick Douglass https://www.the-tls.co.uk/articles/public/self-made-man-frederick-douglass/

Linux touchpad like a Macbook: progress and a call for help https://public.amplenote.com/4wdQRLmYVU6wAHo1V9yKgaJK

Thoughts on Conway’s Law and the Software Stack https://blog.jessfraz.com/post/thoughts-on-conways-law-and-the-software-stack/

A programming language agnostic type construction and interchange language http://typedefs.com/

No Man’s Sky’s next update will let you explore infinite space in VR https://techcrunch.com/2019/03/25/no-mans-sky-vr-beyond/

Self-forgiveness for procrastinating can reduce future procrastination (2010) [pdf] https://law.utexas.edu/wp-content/uploads/sites/25/Pretend-Paper.pdf

Show HN: What’s My Aircraft? https://whatsmyaircraft.com/

Congestion Pricing in Manhattan Close to Approval https://www.nytimes.com/2019/03/25/nyregion/congestion-pricing-nyc.html

David vs. Goliath: Nauru Rejects’one China’recognizes Taiwan as Nation https://www.taiwannews.com.tw/en/news/3666113

The Opioid Detection Challenge https://www.opioiddetectionchallenge.com/

Show HN: Baxx – Unix-friendly backup service https://txt.black/~jack/baxx-dev.txt

The Measure of Man – Human Factors in Design (1966) [pdf] http://design.data.free.fr/RUCHE/documents/Ergonomie%20Henry%20DREYFUS.pdf

More Than 90% of Americans Have Pesticides or Their Byproducts in Their Bodies https://www.thenation.com/article/pesticides-farmworkers-agriculture/

Talkback: Record and Playback HTTP Requests https://github.com/ijpiantanida/talkback

FastQRE: Fast Query Reverse Engineering (2018) [pdf] https://www.ics.uci.edu/~dvk/pub/C25_SIGMOD18_dvk.pdf

The Prandtl–Glauert Singularity – Jet Plane Shock Collar http://www.kuriositas.com/2011/02/prandtlglauert-singularity-amazing-jet.html

Computational Mathematics with SageMath (2018) http://sagebook.gforge.inria.fr/english.html

A new Einstein cross is discovered https://phys.org/news/2019-03-einstein.html

Simple calculator written in pure HTML (no script) – proof of concept https://cdn.rawgit.com/Holger-Will/htmlcalc/master/htmlcalc.html

Stephen King’s 20 Rules for Writers (2018) http://www.openculture.com/2018/10/stephen-kings-20-rules-writers.html

Is AirPower Out Yet? https://isairpoweroutyet.com

Credder Wants to Create an Equivalent to “Rotten Tomatoes” for News https://mondaynote.com/credder-wants-to-create-an-equivalent-to-rotten-tomatoes-for-news-94467294e57b

Experts say demographic shifts, not AI, create the biggest challenges for work https://www.gsb.stanford.edu/insights/misplaced-fear-job-stealing-robots

Making Anime Faces With StyleGAN https://www.gwern.net/Faces

Colorffy – Resources and tools for designers and developers https://www.colorffy.com/

How to increase serotonin in the human brain without drugs (2007) https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2077351/

How Japanese Police Turned Cyber Prank into Arresting Cases https://b.shujisado.com/2019/03/how-japanese-police-turned-cyber-prank.html

Artificial Intelligence and the Future of Labor Demand [pdf] https://economics.mit.edu/files/16819

Clojurists Together: $3000 USD/month grants for Clojure open source projects https://twitter.com/cljtogether/status/1109925960155983872

Chinese censors incinerate entire run of a kickstarted RPG sourcebook https://boingboing.net/2019/03/25/the-sassoon-files.html

Medicare for All Could Eliminate the $600B Private Insurance Industry http://fortune.com/2019/03/25/medicare-for-all-eliminate-private-insurance/

An Elusive Whale Is Found All Around the World https://www.nytimes.com/2019/03/22/science/omuras-whales-habitat.html

The Rainbow Network: An Off-Chain Decentralized Synthetics Exchange [pdf] https://rainbownet.work/RainbowNetwork.pdf

We Would Never Be Able to Blow Up an Asteroid to Save the Planet https://www.livescience.com/64910-exploding-asteroids-not-easy.html

Return of the King: Compile Time Validation for HQL and JPA-QL Queries https://github.com/gavinking/query-validator

All InfoSec News in One Place https://allinfosecnews.com/

Fomu – An FPGA board that fits inside your USB port https://www.crowdsupply.com/sutajio-kosagi/fomu

Australia threatens social media laws that could jail tech executives https://www.cnet.com/news/australia-threatens-social-media-laws-that-could-jail-tech-executives/

Show HN: Micro – A Microservice Toolkit https://github.com/micro/micro

Show HN: Project Gutenberg Typography https://github.com/smcalilly/gutenberg-typography

How India’s massive 2019 election will work https://qz.com/1570687/how-indias-massive-2019-election-will-work/

Pentagon Says Google’s Drone Work Is Exempt from Freedom of Information Act https://theintercept.com/2019/03/25/google-project-maven-pentagon-foia/

Games Cartographers Play: Alphago, Neural Networks and Tobler’s First Law (2016) https://blogs.loc.gov/maps/2016/04/alphago-neural-networks-and-toblers-first-law/

Cryptocurrency Mining Giant Bitmain Fails to Go Public, IPO Application Expires https://beincrypto.com/cryptocurrency-mining-giant-bitmain-fails-to-go-public-ipo-application-expires/

Key Greenland glacier growing again after shrinking for years, Nasa study shows https://www.nbcnews.com/mach/science/key-greenland-glacier-growing-again-after-shrinking-years-nasa-study-ncna987116

Debbie Harry: ’Music matters. YouTube should pay musicians fairly’ https://www.theguardian.com/music/musicblog/2016/apr/26/debbie-harry-youtube-royalties

Better Language Models and Their Implications https://openai.com/blog/better-language-models/

The Prefect Workflow Engine Is Now Open Source https://github.com/PrefectHQ/prefect

The Cryptopals Crypto Challenges https://cryptopals.com/

TypeScript 3.4 hidden gem: propagated generic type arguments https://codewithstyle.info/TypeScript-3-4-hidden-gem-propagated-generic-type-arguments/

Show HN: K3d – A fast kubernetes dev environment https://blog.zeerorg.site/post/k3d-kubernetes-dev-env

U.S. workers hate ‘open’ office spaces https://www.prdaily.com/report-u-s-workers-hate-open-office-spaces/

Arthur Whitney’s ’B’ Language http://kparc.com/b/

Writing Sex for Money Is Hard Fucking Work https://lithub.com/writing-sex-for-money-is-hard-fcking-work

Internet of Things So What? A Farmer’s Guide to Technology https://hackerfarm.jp/2019/03/internet-of-things-so-what-a-farmers-guide-to-technology/

Describing Chinese Characters with Recursive Radical Packing Language https://github.com/LingDong-/rrpl

Apple Special Event Livestream [video] https://www.apple.com/apple-events/livestream/

Apple announces Apple News+ $9.99/mo. subscriptions with over 300 publications https://www.macrumors.com/2019/03/25/apple-announces-apple-news-subscriptions/

It’s Ecosystems, Not Inventions That Truly Change the World https://www.digitaltonto.com/2019/its-ecosystems-not-inventions-that-truly-change-the-world/

The Snek Programming Language https://keithp.com/snek/snek.html

C# Hello World Running Without OS or Runtime by Michal Strehovský https://www.reddit.com/r/programming/comments/b5dvuu/c_hello_world_running_without_os_or_runtime_by/

McDonald’s Buys Machine Learning Startup Dynamic Yield for $300M https://www.wired.com/story/mcdonalds-big-data-dynamic-yield-acquisition/

WeWork says revenue more than doubled last year to $1.8B, so did net loss https://www.cnbc.com/2019/03/25/wework-says-sales-more-than-doubled-last-year-but-so-did-net-loss.html

Always own your platform http://alwaysownyourplatform.com/

Thoughts on Conway’s Law and the Software Stack https://blog.jessfraz.com/post/thoughts-on-conways-law-and-the-software-stack/

Sailfish OS Oulanka is now available https://blog.jolla.com/oulanka/

Full Cycle Developers at Netflix – Operate What You Build https://medium.com/netflix-techblog/full-cycle-developers-at-netflix-a08c31f83249

The Origins and Impact of Visicalc https://youtube.com/watch?v=nXt82D7HO9o

New research indicates we transition between 19 brain phases when sleeping https://newatlas.com/sleep-fmri-study-19-cycles-brain-phases/58997/

Rebooting UUCP to redecentralize the net https://boingboing.net/2019/03/25/tilde-servers-r-us.html

The pre-history of Hewlett Packard: David Packard in Schenectady http://www.imatest.com/david_packard_images/

Fedora 31 Preparing to Start Removing Packages Depending Upon Python 2 https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=Fedora-31-Working-To-Kill-Py2

British Airways flight mistakenly lands in Scotland instead of Germany https://www.cnn.com/travel/article/uk-british-airways-flight-lands-in-edinburgh-scli-gbr-intl/index.html

As H-1B Hiring Escalates, Firms Moving Jobs to Canada https://insights.dice.com/2019/03/25/h-1b-hiring-moving-jobs-canada/

Fourteen Year Old Firefox Bug Resolved https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=288704

Philosophy Herbert Marcuse on automation and totalitarian democracy http://bostonreview.net/philosophy-religion/david-moscrop-will-automation-set-us-free

PG about being aggrieved and/or rich https://twitter.com/paulg/status/1109902207326015488

Why does the brain have a reward prediction error? – The Spike – Medium https://medium.com/the-spike/why-does-the-brain-have-a-reward-prediction-error-6d52773bd9e7

Show HN: Banana for Scale – A Tool for Learning Scales on the Guitar https://banana.rocks

A list of apps that use GANs to create fake-anythings https://thisxdoesnotexist.com/

Show HN: The Legend of Trykon, a 3D Zelda-like exploration/puzzle game https://trykon.itch.io/the-legend-of-trykon