HN:Live JSON revision - 2019-04-05
We got 139 links!

Should you be concerned about LastPass uploading your passwords to its server? https://palant.de/2019/03/18/should-you-be-concerned-about-lastpass-uploading-your-passwords-to-its-server/

Second-Order Thinking: What Smart People Use to Outperform (2016) https://fs.blog/2016/04/second-order-thinking/

Self-Contained Pure-Go Web Server with Lua, MD, HTTP/2, QUIC, Redis Support https://github.com/xyproto/algernon

Combine statistical and symbolic artificial intelligence techniques http://news.mit.edu/2019/teaching-machines-to-reason-about-what-they-see-0402

Pluggable Storage Committed in Postgres https://www.postgresql.org/docs/devel/tableam.html

93% of Paint Splatters Are Valid Perl Programs http://colinm.org/sigbovik/

Dan Robbins, artist who created the paint-by-numbers idea in Detroit, dies at 93 https://www.detroitnews.com/story/news/nation/2019/04/04/artist-created-paint-numbers-pictures-dies/39299597/

Haskell, Ada, C++: An Experiment in Prototyping Productivity (1994) [pdf] http://haskell.cs.yale.edu/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/HaskellVsAda-NSWC.pdf

What an Aging Population Means for the Future of the Internet https://www.buzzfeednews.com/article/craigsilverman/old-and-online-fake-news-aging-population

Less Pizza, More Yoga: E-Sports Embraces Traditional Training Methods https://www.nytimes.com/2019/04/02/sports/esports-league-of-legends.html

Peter’s Evil Overlord List (1996) http://www.eviloverlord.com/lists/overlord.html

Carbon dioxide extraction company Carbon Engineering receives $68M investment https://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-47638586

Adventures of putting 16 GB of RAM in a motherboard that doesn’t support it https://www.downtowndougbrown.com/2019/04/adventures-of-putting-16-gb-of-ram-in-a-motherboard-that-doesnt-support-it/

Futarchy: Vote Values, But Bet Beliefs (2013) http://mason.gmu.edu/~rhanson/futarchy.html

Show HN: I made a platform for journalists to “open source” their fact checking https://sourcedfact.com

An unusual class of molecules could revolutionise the electronics industry https://www.rsc.org/news-events/journals-highlights/2019/apr/molecular-electronics/

Show HN: Learn to use email with Git https://git-send-email.io

How the Samoan Tattoo Survived Colonialism https://www.sapiens.org/body/samoan-tattoo/

Streak (YC S11) Is Hiring Kotlin Engineers in Vancouver https://www.streak.com/careers/android-lead-vancouver

Nordic Valley’s brilliant, zero-budget solution to trail/lift status http://www.slopefillers.com/nordic-valleys-traillift-status/

The Godfather: Philip Johnson, Architect of the Modern Century https://www.nybooks.com/articles/2019/04/18/philip-johnson-godfather/

Ethiopian Airlines Pilots Followed Boeing’s Safety Procedures Before Crash https://www.nytimes.com/2019/04/04/world/asia/ethiopia-crash-boeing.html

But I’m Not a Lawyer, I’m an Agent https://davidsimon.com/but-im-not-a-lawyer-im-an-agent/

Dilemmas with React Hooks: Persistence and Memoization https://yearn2learn.netlify.com/dilemmas-with-react-hooks-2

Ghidra source code officially released https://github.com/NationalSecurityAgency/ghidra

Apple Hires AI and Deep Learning Expert Ian Goodfellow https://www.cnbc.com/2019/04/04/apple-hires-ai-expert-ian-goodfellow-from-google.html

Open-Sourcing Habana Back End for Glow https://code.fb.com/open-source/glow-habana/

Agile Lite: Agile without all the burnout https://github.com/davebs/AgileLite

PayPal’s New Refund Policy Sticks It to Sellers with Fees https://www.paypal.com/us/webapps/mpp/ua/upcoming-policies-full

Show HN: Create AI Models from an Excel Spreadsheet https://getyantra.com

The Army thought a veteran faked his health issues while having lead poisoning https://www.nytimes.com/2019/04/03/magazine/lead-poisoning-military-soldiers.html

Ray Dalio – Why and How Capitalism Needs to Be Reformed (Part 1) https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/why-how-capitalism-needs-reformed-ray-dalio/

Purism Becomes PIA’s First OEM Partner https://puri.sm/posts/purism-becomes-pia-first-oem-partner/

Cats know their names – whether they care is another matter https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-019-01067-z

The Myspace Dragon Hoard (2008-2010) https://archive.org/details/myspace_dragon_hoard_2010

Show HN: I made a ’scrollytelling’ visual explanation for the Permutation Test https://www.jwilber.me/permutationtest/

Dick’s Sporting Goods Bringing It’s Software Development In-House https://www.forbes.com/sites/retailwire/2019/04/04/dicks-sporting-goods-foolish-software-development-move/

New technology enabling scientists to identify origins of illegal timber https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-019-01035-7

Prince Harry and Meghan took my Instagram name https://www.bbc.com/news/newsbeat-47813521

Redhat Thorntail: innovative approach to packaging and running Java EE apps https://thorntail.io/

Facts on the differences between biodegradeables and compostables https://greenthatlife.com/biodegradable-vs-compostable-products/

Microsoft Abandons Windows 10’s Constant Forced Updates https://www.howtogeek.com/410183/microsoft-abandons-windows-10s-forced-updates/

How to make a machine learning website from scratch to understand ML https://hackernoon.com/how-to-make-a-simple-machine-learning-website-from-scratch-1ae4756c8b04

Dutch lawyer ’refused US visa’ because of terrorism defence work https://www.dutchnews.nl/news/2019/04/dutch-lawyer-refused-us-visa-because-of-terrorism-defence-work/

Still using Google Play Music? Time to start thinking about moving on https://www.androidauthority.com/google-play-music-artist-hub-973411/

Visual Studio Code March 2019 Release (1.33) https://code.visualstudio.com/updates/v1_33

The Art of DJing: Jeff Mills https://www.residentadvisor.net/features/3436

Natural Language Processing with Deep Learning http://web.stanford.edu/class/cs224n/

German president presented with last piece of black coal mined in Germany https://steelguru.com/coal/german-president-presented-with-last-piece-of-black-coal-mined-in-ruhr-region/537625

Malicious remote code execution backdoor discovered bootstrap-sass Ruby gem https://snyk.io/blog/malicious-remote-code-execution-backdoor-discovered-in-the-popular-bootstrap-sass-ruby-gem/

Berlin’s rental revolution: activists push for properties to be nationalised https://www.theguardian.com/cities/2019/apr/04/berlins-rental-revolution-activists-push-for-properties-to-be-nationalised

Filing Your Taxes Is an Expensive Time Sink. That’s Not an Accident https://www.theatlantic.com/ideas/archive/2019/04/american-tax-returns-dont-need-be-painful/586369/

Linus Torvalds Says Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram Are ’A Disease’ https://www.businessinsider.com/linus-torvalds-says-twitter-facebook-instagram-a-disease-2019-4

The Great Barrier Reef Was Seen as ‘Too Big to Fail.’ A Study Suggests It Isn’t https://www.nytimes.com/2019/04/03/world/australia/great-barrier-reef-corals-bleaching.html

Doomsday Clock: It is *still* 2 minutes to midnight https://thebulletin.org/doomsday-clock/current-time/

Cats know their names–why it’s harder for them than dogs https://www.nationalgeographic.com/animals/2019/04/cats-recognize-names-dogs-pets/

Digital Asset Open Sources Its Smart Contract Language, DAML [pdf] https://hub.digitalasset.com/hubfs/Press%20Releases/DAML_Open_Source_Press_Release_4.4.19.pdf

Air Force still cannot identify 19 of 64 satellites from the “ride-share” launch https://www.theverge.com/2019/4/2/18277344/space-situational-awareness-air-force-tracking-sso-a-spaceflight-cubesats

German chemicals giant Bayer victim of year long cyber attack https://techerati.com/news-hub/bayer-cyber-attack-malware-china/

Ethiopian Airlines Boeing 737 pilots ’could not stop nosedive’ https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-47812225

Amazon to offer broadband access from orbit with ‘Project Kuiper’ constellation https://www.geekwire.com/2019/amazon-project-kuiper-broadband-satellite/

Chess, a Drosophila of Reasoning http://science.sciencemag.org/content/362/6419/1087

Amazon wants to launch thousands of satellites to provide internet access https://www.cnbc.com/2019/04/04/amazon-project-kuiper-broadband-internet-small-satellite-network.html

Jeff Bezos to keep 75 percent of couple’s Amazon stock after finalizing divorce https://www.cnbc.com/2019/04/04/mackenzie-bezos-to-keep-25-percent-of-couples-amazon-stock-after-finalizing-divorce.html

After bleaching, Great Barrier Reef corals aren’t bouncing back quickly https://arstechnica.com/science/2019/04/great-barrier-reef-corals-arent-repopulating-very-quickly/

Stupid Patent of the Month: Veripath Patents Following Privacy Laws https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2019/02/stupid-patent-month-patent-following-privacy-laws

Jeff Bezos and Amazon Propose Space-Based Internet Service http://fortune.com/2019/04/04/jeff-bezos-amazon-project-kuiper/

The Future of Democracies Depends on How We Deal with Privacy Today https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_2o3uWeoQdoBpBdiHJ3O0Q

Judge finds Tesla CEO Elon Musk in ’clear violation’ of gag order https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2019/apr/04/elon-musk-tesla-sec-court-new-york

Approval Voting versus Instant Runoff Voting https://www.electionscience.org/library/approval-voting-versus-irv/

Show HN: PHP framework with only 1062 LLOC https://www.webiik.com

Show HN: The Byte – A Byte-Sized Podcast about Containers, Cloud, and Tech http://thebyte.io

Finland’s Basic Income Experiment Shows Recipients Are Happier and More Secure https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2019-04-04/finland-says-basic-income-recipients-less-financially-insecure

It’s Time to End the NSA’s Metadata Collection Program https://www.wired.com/story/wired-opinion-nsa-metadata-collection-program/

Apple employee files complaint against CBP for asking to unlock phone https://www.cnbc.com/2019/04/03/apple-employee-files-complaint-against-cbp-for-asking-to-unlock-phone.html

Former Mozilla CTO was detained at US border and told he had no right to lawyer https://boingboing.net/2019/04/03/former-mozilla-cto-was-detaine.html