HN:Live JSON revision - 2019-07-31
We got 152 links!

Math Basics for Computer Science and Machine Learning [pdf] http://www.cis.upenn.edu/~jean/math-basics.pdf

BootOS: Monolithic operating system in 512 bytes of x86 machine code https://github.com/nanochess/bootOS

Apple Reports Declining Profits and Slowing Growth, Again https://www.nytimes.com/2019/07/30/technology/apple-earnings-iphone.html

The Stranding of the MV Shokalskiy (Idle Words) https://idlewords.com/2019/07/the_stranding_of_the_mv_shokalskiy.htm

LoRaWAN distance world record broken twice: 766km/476m using 25mW power https://www.thethingsnetwork.org/article/lorawan-distance-world-record

Technician keeps computer made in 1959 still humming along http://www.asahi.com/ajw/articles/AJ201907280007.html

Fast and flexible observability with canonical log lines https://stripe.com/blog/canonical-log-lines

The Moon is older than previously believed https://phys.org/news/2019-07-moon-older-previously-believed.html

DSVPN – VPN using TCP at port 80 and 443 https://github.com/jedisct1/dsvpn

As crime dries up, Japan’s police hunt for things to do (2017) https://www.economist.com/asia/2017/05/18/as-crime-dries-up-japans-police-hunt-for-things-to-do

Web Scraping and Crawling Are Perfectly Legal, Right? (2017) https://benbernardblog.com/web-scraping-and-crawling-are-perfectly-legal-right/

Andy Rachleff on 35 years in Silicon Valley, Wealthfront and telling stories http://www.startuplessonslearned.com/2019/06/lean-startup-conference-speaker-andy.html?m=1

Google Chrome: “HTTPS” scheme and “www” to be hidden from address bar in M76 https://bugs.chromium.org/p/chromium/issues/detail?id=883038#c114

The Story of the Ping Program (1997) https://ftp.arl.army.mil/~mike/ping.html

Indigenous Maize: Who Owns the Rights to Mexico’s ‘Wonder’ Plant? https://e360.yale.edu/features/indigenous-maize-who-owns-the-rights-to-mexicos-wonder-plant

Ithkuil: A Philosophical Design for a Hypothetical Language http://www.ithkuil.net/

Ring has enormous control over the ways police partners can portray its products https://gizmodo.com/everything-cops-say-about-amazons-ring-is-scripted-or-a-1836812538

A Programmer’s Regret: Neglecting Math at University https://awalterschulze.github.io/blog/post/neglecting-math-at-university/

Tracking Sex: Implications of widespread data leakage and tracking on porn sites https://arxiv.org/abs/1907.06520

The Sahara buried this ancient Roman city – preserving it for centuries https://www.nationalgeographic.com/archaeology-and-history/magazine/2019/07-08/thamugadi-roman-outpost-ruins/

Multiprocessing for the Impoverished: a multi-6809 system (1993) http://www.bradrodriguez.com/papers/6809cpu.htm

’Five Eyes’ nations discuss backdoor access to WhatsApp https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2019/jul/30/five-eyes-backdoor-access-whatsapp-encryption

UK’s ten warmest years all occurred since 2002 https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-49167797

ZeroCater (YC W11) Is Hiring Full-Stack Engineers in SF https://zerocater.com/about/careers/?gh_jid=1585898

Middle-aged vlogger who used filter to look young caught in live-stream glitch https://www.bbc.com/news/blogs-trending-49151042

Reducing printf call overhead with variadic templates http://www.zverovich.net/2016/11/05/reducing-printf-call-overhead.html

Show HN: Drag and drop page building for any site https://builder.io

Show HN: Bild – A collection of parallel image processing algorithms in Go https://github.com/anthonynsimon/bild

Google reveals fistful of flaws in Apple’s iMessage app https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-49165946

Julia: Come for the Syntax, Stay for the Speed https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-019-02310-3

How over 25 People Got Scammed into Working at a Nonexistent Game Company https://kotaku.com/how-over-25-people-got-scammed-into-working-at-a-nonexi-1836834497

Exa – A Modern Replacement for Ls https://the.exa.website/

Capital One attacker may have breached other major corporations https://krebsonsecurity.com/2019/07/capital-one-data-theft-impacts-106m-people/

C++20 Is Feature Complete; Here’s What Changes Are Coming https://hackaday.com/2019/07/30/c20-is-feature-complete-heres-what-changes-are-coming/

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commision to Run Bitcoin, Ethereum, XRP Nodes https://www.trustnodes.com/2019/07/30/sec-to-run-bitcoin-ethereum-xrp-nodes

Children’s Village Forever https://thelocal.to/childrens-village-forever/

Capital One found it’s breach only by a member of the public emailing a tip https://www.businessinsider.com/capital-one-hack-data-breach-email-tip-off-2019-7

Three large coronal holes 31st July – first August https://www.swpc.noaa.gov

The Cheapest Way to Save the Planet Grows Like a Weed https://truthout.org/articles/the-cheapest-way-to-save-the-planet-grows-like-a-weed/

The Undertakers of Silicon Valley (2018) https://logicmag.io/failure/the-undertakers-of-silicon-valley/

Show HN: Google Site Search Alternative https://www.expertrec.com/

Capital One’s breach was inevitable, because we did nothing after Equifax https://techcrunch.com/2019/07/29/capital-one-breach-was-inevitable/

Some South Korean gas stations are refusing to refuel Japanese-made cars https://www.businessinsider.com/south-korea-japan-trade-war-gas-stations-decades-long-tensions-2019-7

Grubhub made over 30K websites disguised as restaurant homepages https://nypost.com/2019/06/30/grubhub-owns-over-30k-websites-disguised-as-restaurant-homepages/

Apple joins Google, Facebook, and Twitter in data-sharing project https://www.theverge.com/2019/7/30/20746868/apple-data-transfer-project-google-microsoft-twitter

Updated Thoughts on Trust Scaling http://lucumr.pocoo.org/2019/7/29/dependency-scaling/

Amazon Polly Introduces Neural Text-to-Speech and Newscaster Style https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/aws/amazon-polly-introduces-neural-text-to-speech-and-newscaster-style/

A Trump-era purge of military scientists at a legendary think tank https://www.reuters.com/investigates/special-report/usa-trump-science/

Sites may be liable for helping Facebook track your web browsing, rules EU court https://www.theverge.com/2019/7/29/8934924/facebook-like-buttons-court-justice-eu-ruling-privacy-data-protection-tracking

DNA sequencing progress has stagnated https://twitter.com/erlichya/status/1156195896067088394

Marty the grocery store robot is a glimpse into our hell-ish future https://mashable.com/article/stop-and-shop-marty-robots/

Some Guiding Principles for Developer Tools https://philcalcado.com/2019/07/30/developer_tools_principles.html

Disabling server-side logging of Siri requests https://github.com/jankais3r/Siri-NoLoggingPLS

Paige Thompson, Capital One Hacking Suspect, Left a Trail Online https://www.nytimes.com/2019/07/30/business/paige-thompson-capital-one-hack.html

Did formation of European Union lessen severity of 2003 heatwave https://physicsworld.com/a/did-formation-of-european-union-lessen-severity-of-2003-heatwave/

Duotone, a beautiful new icon style by Font Awesome https://blog.fontawesome.com/introducing-duotone/

Navigating the tension between work and relationships https://www.nytimes.com/2019/07/29/opinion/work-relationships.html

Los Angeles police: personal data of thousands of officers stolen in breach https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2019/jul/29/los-angeles-police-officer-data-breach

Introduce Static Analysis in the Process, Don’t Just Search for Bugs with It https://habr.com/en/post/440610/

Software engineering leaders lead successful teams https://clubhouse.io/blog/6-key-skills-for-leading-a-software-team/

Parents Give Up Custody of Their Kids to Get Need-Based College Financial Aid https://www.propublica.org/article/university-of-illinois-financial-aid-fafsa-parents-guardianship-children-students

Are Companies About to Have a Gen X Retention Problem? https://hbr.org/2019/07/are-companies-about-to-have-a-gen-x-retention-problem

Show HN: What an API is for non technical people https://isaacs-journal.herokuapp.com/shared_posts/-W7XoaQE0S0nvo6sUoEk9g

A Fedex package stuck in the system for over two months http://blog.rongarret.info/2019/07/fedex-when-it-absolutely-positively-has.html

Geoffrey Hinton: The Foundations of Deep Learning (2018) [video] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zl99IZvW7rE

You’re Paying into a Broken System Whenever You Buy Something on iOS https://onezero.medium.com/youre-paying-into-a-broken-system-whenever-you-buy-something-on-ios-3f3aa88ecf8c

Show HN: GIF-progress Attach progress bar to animated GIF https://github.com/nwtgck/gif-progress

Astronomers Discover Record-Breaking White Dwarf Binary System http://www.sci-news.com/astronomy/eclipsing-white-dwarf-binary-shortest-orbital-period-07429.html

Sophie the robot whips up oodles of Singapore noodles https://news.yahoo.com/sophie-robot-whips-oodles-singapore-noodles-090350309.html

Awesome Web components(A collection of Awesome web components) https://github.com/nepaul/awesome-web-components

Duolingo Built a $700M Company Without Charging Users https://producthabits.com/duolingo-built-700-million-company-without-charging-users/

Show HN: Qvault Open Source Password Manager https://github.com/Q-Vault/qvault

UK Made Illegal Copies and Mismanaged Schengen Travelers Database https://www.zdnet.com/article/uk-made-illegal-copies-and-mismanaged-schengen-travelers-database/

Zen2’s 7nm Complications: Why Not All Ryzen 3000 Cores Are Created Equal https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/amd-ryzen-3000-turbo-boost-frequency-analysis,6253.html

Deploying Facebook’s ’Like’ button on your website makes you a data controller https://www.theregister.co.uk/2019/07/29/eu_gdpr_facebook_like_button/

Show HN: Stackkup – Don’t let tabs slow the browser down http://beta.stackkup.com/#/guide

Satellites are starting to watch your every move https://www.cnet.com/news/satellites-are-starting-to-watch-your-every-move/

Ping An – China’s Biggest Private Sector Company and How Its Uses Data https://fortune.com/longform/ping-an-big-data/

Go Language Team Rejects Its Try Proposal ahead of Schedule https://www.infoq.com/news/2019/07/go-try-proposal-rejected/

Apple lightning to HDMI adapter is a computer https://twitter.com/nyan_satan/status/1155148789977636864

National Spelling Bee, at a Loss for Words, Crowns 8 Co-Champions https://www.nytimes.com/2019/05/31/us/national-spelling-bee-champions.html