HN:Live JSON revision - 2019-09-09
We got 114 links!

OpenBSD/loongson is still alive https://ftp.openbsd.org/pub/OpenBSD/6.5/loongson/

String Lengths in Unicode https://hsivonen.fi/string-length/

Fuze Basic for Nintendo Switch https://www.fuze.co.uk/nintendo-switch.html

Huawei heats up the battle for internet in Canada’s north https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-49415867

Show HN: Cherry2.0 – text classification without ML knowledge needed https://github.com/Windsooon/cherry/

Philosophy of Computer Science [pdf] https://cse.buffalo.edu/~rapaport/Papers/phics.pdf

S0lly’s Cellivization – Civ 1 Clone in Excel https://s0lly.itch.io/cellivization

DMVs in the U.S. are selling drivers’ information to private investigators https://www.vice.com/en_us/article/43kxzq/dmvs-selling-data-private-investigators-making-millions-of-dollars

The Muse (YC W12) Is Hiring an Engineering Manager for Data and More https://www.themuse.com/jobs/themuse/engineering-manager-data

How Steep Is That Sidewalk? A Digital Map for People with Disabilities https://www.yesmagazine.org/people-power/app-seattle-disability-digital-map-20190821

Strange life-forms found deep in a mine point to vast ’underground Galapagos’ https://www.nbcnews.com/mach/science/strange-life-forms-found-deep-mine-point-vast-underground-galapagos-ncna1050906

Chernobyl’s Hot Mess, “The Elephant’s Foot,” Is Still Lethal http://nautil.us/blog/chernobyls-hot-mess-the-elephants-foot-is-still-lethal

America’s Buses Need Our Love More Than Ever (2018) https://www.citylab.com/transportation/2018/05/love-the-bus-save-your-city/559262/

Report reveals play-by-play of first U.S. grid cyberattack https://www.eenews.net/stories/1061111289

Tiler: Build Images with Images https://github.com/nuno-faria/tiler

Tesla battery researcher unveils new cell that could last 1M miles https://electrek.co/2019/09/07/tesla-battery-cell-last-1-million-miles-robot-taxis/

An interesting approach on checking if a tree is a sub tree of another https://mohit.athwani.net/blog/check-subtree

Sosml: A Standard ML Interpreter Written in TypeScript https://github.com/SOSML/SOSML

Elasticsearch is a great example of a modern monolithic application https://twitter.com/dvassallo/status/1169798034110025728

Show HN: A hierarchical Markdown notetaking tool with mouse/tablet drawing https://github.com/blackhole89/notekit/

India locates lander lost on final approach to moon https://apnews.com/8533918d2dd348d6819057968182c6f4

Large Waterloo student rental companies get hacked over shady business practices https://np.reddit.com/r/uwaterloo/comments/d1a5t4/massive_data_leak_of_accommod8u_maintenance/

Strike with the Band: The meritocratic failures of classical music https://thebaffler.com/salvos/strike-with-the-band-wagner

Glibc sysdeps: dl_platform detection effectively performs “cripple AMD” https://sourceware.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=24979

Book Summary: Atomic Habits by James Clear https://durmonski.com/book-summaries/atomic-habits/

The Cobra Effect: Lessons in Unintended Consequences https://fee.org/articles/the-cobra-effect-lessons-in-unintended-consequences

Eric’s Guide to Hiring Software Developers https://lawler.io/scrivings/erics-guide-to-hiring-software-developers/

Are forest fires as bad as they seem? https://www.bbc.com/news/world-49515462

Ethiopia beats its goal and plants over 350M trees in 12 hours https://www.insider.com/ethiopia-beats-goal-plants-350-million-trees-in-12-hours-2019-7

Chemistry of Cast Iron Seasoning: A Science-Based How-To (2010) http://sherylcanter.com/wordpress/2010/01/a-science-based-technique-for-seasoning-cast-iron/

Information gerrymandering in social networks skews collective decision-making https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-019-02562-z

Black hole movies coming soon, says leading astronomer https://phys.org/news/2019-09-black-hole-movies-astronomer.html

Virus Lasers for Biological Detection https://www.nature.com/articles/s41467-019-11604-z

Show HN: Standalone Implementation of WebRTC DataChannels in C++17 https://github.com/paullouisageneau/libdatachannel

Students discover bacteria that ingest ocean plastic and excrete water https://www.physics-astronomy.org/2019/05/students-invent-bacteria-that-eat.html

Leveraging Web Workers for Client-Side Applications with React and Redux https://www.memsql.com/blog/web-workers-client-side-react-redux/

CVSS v3 Creates New Challenges For Developers (2018) http://whitesourc.com/cvss-v3-creates-new-challenges-for-developers

Tesla Model 3 accounted for over 12% of Norwegian auto market in Jan-July https://cleantechnica.com/2019/08/16/tesla-model-3-12-4-of-all-norwegian-vehicle-sales-january-july-2019/

The Future of Farming? No Sun, No Soil, but Lots of Data https://fortune.com/2019/09/05/future-farming-vertical-sun-soil-data-aerofarms/

Complex System Failure: The Whole Is More Than the Sum of Its Parts https://itnext.io/complex-system-failure-the-whole-is-more-than-the-sum-of-its-parts-ac1ee9bc4e6c

Show HN: WIP App that provides actionable tips to reduce carbon footprint https://carbonzero.today

Planet PostgreSQL https://planet.postgresql.org/

I Started a $5K/Month Backyard Plant Nursery Business https://www.starterstory.com/start-profitable-backyard-plant-nursery-business

Elon Musk throws down with Porsche, sends a Model S to the Nürburgring https://arstechnica.com/cars/2019/09/tesla-to-take-on-taycans-track-time-at-the-nurburgring/

Scala on Track to Support Java 9 Module System https://github.com/scala/scala-dev/issues/529

Leaked UN Climate Report – Warming Oceans Are ‘Poised to Unleash Misery’ https://nymag.com/intelligencer/2019/08/leaked-un-draft-warming-oceans-could-unleash-misery.html

’Google’s Chrome Has My Dead Grandpa’s Data and He Never Used the Internet’ https://slashdot.org/story/360610

California is about to rewrite the rules of the gig economy https://qz.com/1703897/californias-ab5-will-rewrite-the-rules-of-the-gig-economy/

Cloud Cities of Venus - Why So Set on Colonizing Mars? There’s Better Options https://medium.com/futuresin/cloud-cities-of-venus-367710d1e26c

Silicon Valley man launches a hunger strike against housing the homeless https://medium.com/@anirvan/engineer-protests-against-housing-homeless-9609fab0d026

What Is Web-Scraping and How to Start https://www.coriers.com/what-is-web-scraping/

We are not edging up to a mass extinction https://aeon.co/essays/we-are-not-edging-up-to-a-mass-extinction

A captcha that requires your computer to solve equations in the background https://wehatecaptchas.com/?ref=producthunt

Disney Inks Long-Term Deal to Occupy Most of Pinewood Studios https://variety.com/2019/film/news/disney-long-term-deal-occupy-pinewood-studios-1203327788/

Millions of Exim servers vulnerable to root-granting exploit https://www.zdnet.com/article/millions-of-exim-servers-vulnerable-to-root-granting-exploit/

JavaScript Iterators and Generators: Asynchronous Iterators https://dev.to/jfet97/javascript-iterators-and-generators-asynchronous-iterators-28b8

Bill de Blasio: Why American Workers Need to Be Protected from Automation https://www.wired.com/story/why-american-workers-need-to-be-protected-from-automation/

Where is Open Source taking Telco? (or is it the other way around?) https://twitter.com/dez_blanchfield/status/1170537472603746304

Transitioning from a 9–5 Job to Full-Time Freelance Writing https://medium.com/swlh/transitioning-from-a-9-5-job-to-full-time-freelance-writing-7825ab779012

China ‘exaggerated’ GDP data by 2 percentage points for at least nine years https://www.scmp.com/economy/china-economy/article/2189052/china-exaggerated-gdp-data-2-percentage-points-least-nine